Skip to main content

San Diego City College Library: Articles & Databases

Computer equipment location and access

Select a Database (Sort by Title or Subject)

Looking for articles?

These databases contain articles, primary documents, videos, and/or more depending on the database. You may sort by title or subject using the ↑ ↓. (More sorting options). For offsite access, log in with your CSID# and last name. For help with databases contact us. peer reviewed/scholarly ** multiple subjects

Database Title  ↑ ↓ Subject ↑ ↓
Academic Search Complete
(EBSCO) -- Multi-disciplinary database provides articles covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and other subjects. Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines; nearly 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. 
General **
Access Science 
(McGraw-Hill) -- Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10th edition. Full-text articles, definitions, images, and biographies on science topics from A-Z.
Science & Technology
Alt-HealthWatch
(EBSCO) -- Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Some full text.
Health, Nursing & Medicine
America History & Life
(EBSCO) -- History and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Some full text. | Review >
History
Associated Press NewsMonitor 
(EBSCO) -- Harvested news from the Associated Press. Full text. Review >
General **
Business Source Premier
(EBSCO) -- Articles on business topics, plus company profiles and market research, industry, and country reports. Some full text.
Business
CINAHL Plus
(EBSCO) -- Nursing, health, & medicine articles. Some full text.
Health, Nursing & Medicine
College Source 
(College Source) -- College catalogs and course descriptions. Full text. Review 1 > | Review 2 >
Education
Communication & Mass Media Complete
(EBSCO) -- Articles on communications and mass media, plus abstracts and author profiles. Some full text.
Science & Technology, Sociology
Country Watch 
(Country Watch) -- Entries on the politics, geography, economy, business, environment, and current events of countries around the world. Full text. | Review >
Multicultural **
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government 
(CQ) -- Covers the who, how, and why of American democracy. Five content categories include: the Presidency, the Supreme Court, Congress, Elections, and the U.S. Constitution. Also includes facts, statistics, images, primary source documents, and bibliographies. | Review >
Politics & Government
CQ Researcher 
(CQ) -- In-depth analytical reporting on current and controversial "hot" issues.
Controversial Issues **
eBook Collection 
(EBSCO) -- Over 30,000 full-text electronic books, also found in the City College Library catalog.
General **
EBSCOhost Multi-Database Search
(EBSCO) -- Use this link to simultaneous search most EBSCO databases to which City College Library subscribes (that is, most of the EBSCO listings in this table). Some full text.
General **
ERIC
(EBSCO) -- Articles and summaries on education topics. Some full text.
Education
Ethnic Newswatch
(ProQuest) -- Articles from ethnic, minority and native press publications.  Some full text. |  Review >
Multicultural, Sociology**
Films on Demand 
(Infobase Learning) -- Streaming video collection of over 24,000 full-length videos and 245,000+ video clips on a variety of subject areas. Includes the Master Academic Collection, Master Career & Technical Education Collection, and the Archival Films & Newsreels Collection. Captioning available *except* for non-English-language videos and videos without dialogue. Note that recently-added videos may take up to 3 weeks to get captioned. Public Performance Rights info | Review >
Videos **
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
(EBSCO) -- Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries on a variety of subject areas.
Reference **
Gale Virtual Reference Library
(Gale) -- Reference books, including encyclopedias, almanacs, and biographical books. Full text.
Reference **
GreenFILE
(EBSCO) -- Articles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Some full text. | Review >
Science & Technology, Sociology **
Health & Wellness Resource Center 
(Gale) -- Full-text reference book articles and articles on health, medicine, and nursing topics. 
Health, Nursing & Medicine
Health Reference Center Academic 
(Gale) -- Health, medicine, and nursing topics. Full text. | Review >
Health, Nursing & Medicine
Health Source: Consumer Edition
(EBSCO) -- Articles, books, and reports on AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition, children's health, women's health, etc. Full text.
Health, Nursing & Medicine
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
(EBSCO) -- Articles and summaries on nursing and allied health topics. Some full text.
Health, Nursing & Medicine
History Reference Center
(EBSCO) -- Books, articles, biographies, photos, maps, and video covering American, British, African, Chinese, German history, etc. Some full text.
History
JSTOR  Arts & Sciences  Collections I, II, III, VI and VII 
(JSTOR) -- Archived scholarly full-text articles covering topics such as archaeology, classics, ecology, economics, history, mathematics, political science, sociology, and statistics. Also covers African, Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies. Note: "archived" means this database excludes the most recent years of these journals, but usually has the complete run of each title from volume 1 onwards. |  Review >
Literature & Humanities, Sociology **
JSTOR Life Sciences
(JSTOR) -- Archived scholarly full-text articles covering life science topics such as aquatic science, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, and zoology. Also covers medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health. Note: "archived" means this database excludes the most recent years of these journals, but usually has the complete run of each title from volume 1 onwards.
Science & Technology
Kanopy 
(Kanopy.com) -- NEW Streaming video collection of documentary films, all captioned. This is a small curated collection. Public Performance Rights info
Videos **
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
(EBSCO) -- Librarianship, online information retrieval, information management and more, back to mid-1960s. Some full text.
Science & Technology **
Literature Resource Center 
(Gale) -- Biographical information, overviews, & literary criticism on writers. Includes the contents of three series: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Full text. Review >
Literature & Humanities
Magill On Literature Plus
(EBSCO) -- Critical essays and character profiles covering works of fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. Biographical essays and genre overviews. Some full text.
Literature & Humanities
MAS Ultra - School Edition (High School)
(EBSCO) -- High school-level articles, books, biographies and primary source documents on history, science and other topics. Some full text.
High Interest Low Vocabulary **
MasterFILE Complete (Public library)
(EBSCO) -- Articles, books, primary sources and images on general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more. Some full text.
General **
MEDLINE 
(EBSCO) -- Articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Some full text.
Health, Nursing & Medicine
Military and Government Collection
(EBSCO) -- Current news articles covering all branches of the military and government. Some full text.
Politics & Government
Newspaper Source Plus
(EBSCO) -- Full text of newspaper articles, television and radio news transcripts.
General **
Newswires
(EBSCO) -- Harvested news from the Associated Press. Full text.
General **
OnDemand@SDCCD
Collection of instructional videos created by SDCCD faculty and staff. Contact SDCCD Online Learning Pathways for more information. Public Performance Rights info
Videos **
Opposing Viewpoints In Context 
(Gale) -- Full text of articles, primary documents, & website links on controversial issues. |  Review >
Controversial Issues **
Oxford Art Online 
(Oxford) -- Images, biographies and full-text articles covering art subjects from prehistory to today.
Art
Oxford Reference Online
(Oxford) -- Reference materials on general and specific subjects. Includes illustrations, maps, biographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries and more. Dictionary and encyclopedia entries, quotes, etc. Some full text. | Review >
Reference **
Primary Search (grades K-6)
(EBSCO) -- Elementary school-level magazine articles, plus encyclopedia and dictionary entries written for children. Also includes photos. Some full text.
High Interest Low Vocabulary **
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
(EBSCO) -- Articles on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Some full text.
Psychology, Sociology
Regional Business News
(EBSCO) -- Articles from almost 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications. Some full text.
Business
Research in Context  (formerly Discovering Collection)
(Gale) -- Articles, biographies, primary documents, country histories, and photographs. Full text.
General **
San Diego City College LRC Media Collection
Collection of approximately 650 videos in VHS and DVD formats. All are captioned. This collection is housed in the LRC's Independent Learning Center, Room R105. These may be checked out by instructors for classroom use, or used by students in room R105 (ILC). Public Performance Rights info
Video **
San Diego City College Print Holdings
This is a .pdf list of the journals, newspapers and magazines held by the Library in hardcopy format. The list includes links to the library catalog for holdings and availability. The physical items are shelved on the 2nd floor of San Diego City College Library on open shelves in the Periodicals and Newspapers section.
General **
Science Full Text Select 
(EBSCO) -- Science articles from acoustics to zoology. Some full text.
Science & Technology
Student Research Center
(EBSCO) -- Visual search interface intended for secondary school students. Points to information in the following databases: History Reference Center, Health Source: Consumer Edition, MagillOnLiterature Plus, and MAS Ultra - School Edition. Some full text.
High Interest Low Vocabulary **
Swank Digital Campus
(Swank) -- Streaming video collection. Includes over 230 feature films from major Hollywood studios and other producers, including MGM, Sony, Paramount, LionsGate, United Artists, Miramax and more. Public Performance Rights info
Videos **
U.S. History in Context
(Gale) -- Historical (primary) documents, reference titles, and articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Some full text.
History
Vocational & Career Collection
(EBSCO) -- Articles from over 330 trade and industry related periodicals. Some full text.
Careers
World History in Context
(Gale) -- Articles, reference articles, primary documents, video, and audio covering the world from antiquity to the present. Some full text.
History

[top]

Find a Specific Journal

Got a specific journal or magazine title and want to know if the Library has full-text access to it? Check the Locator Tool link below:

Get Off-Campus Access

Need to get access to library resources from home or elsewhere?  Click the link below for more information:

San Diego City College San Diego Community College District Accreditation Blackboard Contact Facts Sheet Directory Success Scorecard Campus Map San Diego Community College District San Diego City College San Diego Mesa College San Diego Miramar College San Diego Continuing Education Employee Email San Diego City College Facebook San Diego City College Twitter San Diego City College Youtube San Diego City College Instagram San Diego City College LinkedIn Military and Veterans Hispanic Serving Institution Complaint Procedure