San Diego City College Library

Respect your classmates! Keep noise and distractions to a minimum.

• Animals: Registered service animals are welcome. (Contact DSPS for info)
• Food & Drink: Finish your food and drinks before entering the building. Beverages in a cup with a top are OK.
• Noise: Keep noise (talking, music, cell phones, etc.) to a minimum. Set your cell phone to "vibration mode" at all times. Take your calls outside the building.
• Valuables: Unattended items such as books, purses, and backpacks are attractive to thieves. Keep an eye on your stuff. Unattended items are considered a safety issue and are therefore not allowed.
• Sleeping: For safety reasons, sleeping is not allowed in the library.

Introduction from the Library Collection Management Guidelines document:

The San Diego City College Library provides access to resources and services that support the academic success of City College students. Material formats include books, periodicals, electronic resources (e-resources) and media resources. While the curriculum is the foremost component in the collection development criteria, the library recognizes that close collaboration with the faculty is required to maintain the most relevant collection possible. All collection development decisions, including acceptance of gifts and withdrawal of materials, are the responsibility of the librarians. Suggestions from students, staff and faculty are strongly encouraged. These guidelines support the mission of the library and the college by providing guidelines for collection development and maintenance.

See below for the full text of the document.

Community patrons may use the facility for study purposes. Per District policy, community users have access to on-site non-electronic resources only, such as books and paper periodicals.

The most important reason the following policy is in place is to ensure that students have a place to do their academic work. Non-compliance may result in privileges being revoked. 

• Computer use is a privilege limited to currently-enrolled SDCCD students for school-related business or academic purposes only.
• You may be asked to show your current SDCCD ID card as proof of eligible status to use the computers.
• Computers may be monitored by Library staff.
• All Library computers provide Internet access and MS Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint). More software titles may be found on the first floor in the Independent Learning Center.

These guidelines are based on policies listed in the City College Catalog (2011-2012, p. 39) and on SDCCD Board Policies 6100 (Web Policy) and 0530-2.3 (Use of District Equipment). 

The San Diego City College Library greatly appreciates donations of books that supplement our collection development goals. Our collection management goal is to support student learning by providing academic resources and services.  Your donation will help us do that.  See below for further information.  If you have questions, please contact the Library at citylib@sdccd.edu.

What books are needed:

• Donated items will be reviewed by the librarians to ensure they comply with our collection development plan, which includes:
  • subject matter aligned with our curriculum
  • undergraduate level
  • date of publication

What you should do: 

• Please send an email to us at citylib@sdccd.edu that indicates the size and condition of your proposed donation. 
• Create your own inventory list of titles. Please send this list to us as well. (If you intend to use this donation as a tax deduction, please note that librarians cannot provide valuation for your gift, only a thank-you note on letterhead.)
• Arrange for your donation to come to the Library. 

What (else) you should know:

• Books donated to the library immediately become the property of the college and cannot be returned. 
• Books accepted into the library collection may take several months to appear on the shelves for use. 
• Books not selected for inclusion into the library collection may be discarded or put aside for a future book sale.

San Diego City College Library welcomes the students, faculty, and staff of San Diego City College to use the various display and exhibit areas in the Library. Space is provided for displays and exhibits of an educational, cultural, civic, charitable or recreational nature. The Library especially encourages exhibition of materials produced by students and faculty, and materials celebrating diverse cultures.

To set up a display/exhibit, you will need to fill out the Exhibit Guidelines and Agreement form below and contact us at citylib@sdccd.edu.

Access to Library Resources from Off-Campus Locations

How the login system works: 

When you click on a link for a database article, video, or e-book...

• Students: Use your student email address and your mySDCCD password. You must be currently taking at least one City College class and have fully paid your tuition and fees in order to log in. If you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name and student ID number.

• Staff: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are logging in to MySDCCD, use your 10 digit school ID and password. If you are having problems logging in, email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.
• Faculty: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are logging in to MySDCCD, use your 10 digit school ID and password. If you are not teaching in the current semester/session or you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.

Common issues: 

• Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.
• Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.

San Diego City College campus wifi is part of the SDCCD Campus Connect wireless network. Access details are provided here. 

• When in the Library, please use headphones to play computer audio, so as not to disturb others.
• Use of the wireless network is at your own risk.

San Diego City College's Library faculty uphold the American Library Association's (ALA) Code of Ethics and the interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights set forth by ALA for Academic Libraries. In all activities, we seek out and strive to apply current best practices relevant to the services and the selection of, acquisition of, and access to, the resources we provide San Diego City College students, staff and faculty.

In compliance with District Administrative Policy (AP) 5040, the San Diego City College Library has developed these guidelines for its services and collections: 

• Access Services
• Collection Management
• Instruction
• Reference Services

San Diego City College Library faculty provide equal access to reference services to all members of the City College campus. All reference interactions, as are all circulating interactions, are held in confidence.

• Technical Services

Technical Services provides access to information by acquiring and cataloging books, controlling periodical check-in and maintaining electronic access with no filtering among other things. These functions are guided by American Library Association ethics which insist on equal access to information.

ALA Code of Ethics

Library Bill of Rights