SDCC Library: Communications: Getting Started

What is Communications Studies?

Communication Studies provides students the opportunity to gain effective communication skills which are essential and highly demanded in educational, professional and social settings. Through critical thinking, observation, and performance, students recognize the importance of messages in an interconnected multicultural community.

-- Description adapted from the Communications Studies Department website, accessed 03/07/2021

Picture: By Romithaten. Public domain from Wikimedia Commons.

Key Terms to Try

Before you start searching, you must identify relevant key terms for your topic. Below are a few examples of key terms to try for communications studies:

Argument	Speech	Intercultural Communication
Debate	Interpersonal Communication	Business Communication
Oral communication	Vocal Production	Social Media
Mass Media	Public Speaking	Written communication

Here a few examples of politics-related search terms that you can use to find items in the library catalog. Note that adding the word "AND" will combine the key terms to give a narrower set of results:

Taking Sides - searching for the series title and limiting to City College
Opposing Viewpoints - searching for the series title and limiting to City College
Debates and debating
Logic

Tips and tricks:

In general, search using one or two nouns, combined by AND or OR.
Do more than one search, using different words that cover the same concept.
If you find too much information, add a word. If you don't find enough, take one out or use a broader term.
Use an asterisk (*) to search for variations on a word. For example, searching for student* will bring up records on student and students.

Need some help with figuring out a research topic or the research process in general? We have guides for those too!

For help with your research topic, see our Develop a topic guide
For more information about how to do research, see our Research Step-by-Step guide

Start Research Here

Advanced Search A-Z Databases | Research Guides | Videos | Journal Finder | Browse Search

Search Tips:

*OneSearch doesn't show you everything! Some databases, like those from EBSCO, are not included so you will need to search them separately.

To find Books, e-books and reference materials --> Use SDCCD Books+, A-Z Databases, or OneSearch
To find Textbooks for your class--> Use Course Reserves
To find Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers --> Use A-Z Databases, EBSCO Articles, or OneSearch
To find Periodicals by title --> Use Journal Finder or OneSearch
To find Videos and media --> Use Videos link, A-Z Databases (choose Films on Demand, Swank, or Kanopy), or OneSearch

Off-campus Access Link

To get access to library resources from off-campus:

Students: When you click on a database/ebook link, you will be prompted for your CSID number and last name. Type it exactly the way you registered. You must be taking at least one City College class and have paid your tuition and fees. Problems? Email citylib@sdccd.edu.
Staff: You are not automatically added to the system from Peoplesoft. To request a login, or if you are having problems, email citylib@sdccd.edu.
Faculty: If you are currently teaching, you are automatically added to the system from ISIS. If you aren’t, or you are having problems, email citylib@sdccd.edu.

Common issues:

Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.
Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.