Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communications

Ebooks in the Spotlight

Image is the cover art for this title

Simply said: communicating better at work and beyond

Master the art of communication to improve outcomes in any scenario Simply Said is the essential handbook for business communication. Do you ever feel as though your message hasn't gotten across? Do details get lost along the way? Have tense situations ever escalated unnecessarily? Do people buy into your ideas? It all comes down to communication. We all communicate, but few of us do it well. From tough presentations to everyday transactions, there is no scenario that cannot be improved with better communication skills. This book presents an all-encompassing guide to improving your communication, based on the Exec|Comm philosophy: we are all better communicators when we focus focus less on ourselves and more on other people. More than just a list of tips, this book connects skills with scenarios and purpose to help you hear and be heard. You'll learn the skills to deliver great presentations and clear and persuasive messages, handle difficult conversations, effectively manage, lead with authenticity and more, as you discover the secrets of true communication. Communication affects every interaction every day. Why not learn to do it well? 

Image is the cover art for this title

Butterflies be gone: a hands-on approach to sweat-proof public speaking

Beat the fear of public speaking forever--with no sweat! Speaker's nerves. For many of us, these words spell disaster. Whether it's giving a speech to a conference room filled with hundreds of colleagues or simply socializing with a group of strangers at a party, the churning stomach and sweaty palms that come with speaker's nerves can be uncomfortable at best and career-damaging at worst. When overcoming this anxiety is critical to success, Butterflies Be Gone is your solution. An accomplished speech coach to thousands, including executives, Congressional representatives, and military leaders, Dr. Arthur Bell outlines his sure-fire seven-part plan for conquering your fear. Using tested techniques, probing quizzes, and real-life anecdotes from fellow sufferers, Dr. Bell teaches you how to: Recognize the physiological symptoms of speaker's nerves Identify your unique anxiety profile and develop a customized plan Prepare and practice intelligently for any speaking engagement Establish comfort by making friends with your audience Use breathing and body work to calm your mind Speak "off the cuff" with confidence

All Bullshit and Lies?

In a postfactual world in which claims are often held to be true only to the extent that they confirm pre-existing or partisan beliefs, this book asks crucial questions: how can we identify the many forms of untruthfulness in discourse? How can we know when their use is ethically wrong? Howcan we judge untruthfulness in the messiness of situated discourse?Drawing on pragmatics, philosophy, psychology, and law, All Bullshit and Lies? develops a comprehensive framework for analyzing untruthful discourse in situated context. TRUST, or Trust-related Untruthfulness in Situated Text, sees untruthfulness as encompassing not only deliberate manipulations ofwhat is believed to be true (the insincerity of withholding, misleading, and lying) but also the distortions that arise from an irresponsible attitude towards the truth (dogma, distortion, and bullshit). Chris Heffer discusses times when truth is not "in play," as in jokes or fiction, as well asinstances when concealing the truth can achieve a greater good. The TRUST framework demonstrates that untruthfulness becomes unethical in discourse, though, when it unjustifiably breaches the trust an interlocutor invests in the speaker.In addition to the theoretical framework, this book provides a clear, practical heuristic for analyzing discursive untruthfulness and applies it to such cases of public discourse as the Brexit "battle bus," Trump's tweet about voter fraud, Blair and Bush's claims about weapons of mass destruction,and the multiple forms of untruthfulness associated with the Skripal poisoning case.In All Bullshit and Lies? Chris Heffer turns a critical eye to fundamental questions of truthfulness and trust in our society. This timely and interdisciplinary investigation of discourse provides readers a deeper theoretical understanding of untruthfulness in a postfactual world.

Say it lilke Obama: the power of speaking with purpose and vision

Includes Obama's historic acceptance speech from the Democratic National Convention In speech after speech, Barack Obama has “fired up” millions of enthusiastic supporters with his inspiring vision, rousing rhetoric, and charismatic presence His outstanding communication skills gave rise to an unprecedented political movement and fueled Obama’s success in becoming the first African American presidential nominee of a major U.S. political party. But inspiring and persuading millions isn’t simply a product of innate ability—Barack Obama honed techniques that made him a highly effective speaker before audiences numbering thirty to 200,000. These techniques are vital not only in the political arena, but also for business executives, managers, and leaders from all walks of life. This book is about the art of persuasion, the power of presentation, and the most effective techniques of communication. 

Because Internet

The internet isn't the first technology to alter how we communicate, but it is making our language change faster and in more interesting ways than ever before. The programmers behind the apps and platforms we use decide how our conversations are structured, from the grammar of status updates to the protocols of comments and @replies. Linguistically inventive niche online communities spread slang and jargon exponentially faster than in the days when new dialects were constrained by physical space. What's more, social media provides a fascinating laboratory for watching language evolve in real time.

Image is the cover art for this title

Speaking professionally: influence, power, and responsibility at the podium

Updated with new and current examples throughout, this concise guide is a rich resource for anyone who wants to become more effective in speaking settings. It covers all the basics and identifies essential principles that will help readers to efficiently prepare, deliver, and evaluate presentations.

Ethics in the Digital Domain

As a core text for undergraduate courses in new media, media ethics, and global communication, Ethics in the Digital Domain helps students explore the big questions surrounding the impact of the digital domain on our daily lives.There are those who promise an enhanced human future through adoption and acceptance of digital culture, and those who condemn this shift in no uncertain terms. What are the positions taken by futurists and technology inventors and adopters on these issues? Through a series of case studies, this groundbreaking text challenges students to consider the future they will inhabit. Should they fear such changes or embrace them? What ethical systems will help provide guidance in this new world? What role will they have to play in this ecosystem? Will their humanity survive? Does it matter?Presented in a format designed to initiate debate and discussion, Ethics in the Digital Domain covers enduring debates in ethics such as privacy, copyright, libel, consent, surveillance and the necessity for truthful discourse. It also looks at new dimensions introduced by media practices in digital media, including:·24/7 tracking of handheld devices ·machine-to-machine and machine-to-human communication·promises of immortality in the cloud·the movement of AI robots toward humanlike activitiesRegardless of where students stand on the different issues raised here, they will find themselves in ethical conundrums because the tensions raised are both ordinary and profound in the new world of digital media ethics.

Image is the cover art for this title

Today's business communication: a how-to guide for the modern professional

This handy guide to excellent business communicationsis perfect for anyone, whether preparing for acareer, launching a career, or advancing in a career.Future savvy business professionals understand thatevery organization expects employees to be exceptionalbusiness communicators and this book will getyou there.Inside, the authors lead you through the most frequentlyencountered business communication situationswith a combined 30 years of marketing andcommunication experience. Their success will give youvery accessible, entertaining, and informative answersto your questions. Also included are real anecdotesfrom business professionals from different industries.

Communication Databases- Find articles here!

Academic Search Complete

(EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database provides articles covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and other subjects. Some full text. Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines; nearly 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

(EBSCO) Articles on communications and mass media, plus abstracts and author profiles. Some full text.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

(Gale) Formerly called Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Full-text articles, primary documents, & website links on controversial issues.

CQ Researcher

(CQ) In-depth analytical reporting on current and controversial "hot" issues

EBSCOhost Multi-Database Search

(EBSCO) Use this link to simultaneously search most EBSCO databases to which City College Library subscribes Some full text.

New York Times

To register for your free pass to the online NYTimes, click HERE. If you created your free account already, click HERE to log in.

Websites in the Spotlight!

Oral Communication / Speechmaking Websites

Websites Useful for Writing About Controversial Issues

Streaming Video Databases

Films on Demand

(Infobase Learning) Streaming video collection of over 38,500 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips on a variety of subject areas. Captioning available *except* for non-English-language videos and videos without dialogue. Note that recently-added videos may take up to 3 weeks to get captioned.

Kanopy playlist

This is a curated Kanopy playlist of streaming video documentary films, all captioned. New titles are added by faculty request when funds are available. Click a title for access:
The Codes of Gender || Delano Manongs || Life After Life || Olmec Civilization Emerges || Precious Knowledge
Public Performance Rights (outside the classroom)
"Viewing films in a group forum is permitted for most films as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening). Feel free to contact us and we can confirm if the film is available for a showing to a group forum." Do Kanopy videos include Public Performance Rights?

Swank Digital Campus

Streaming video collection of over 290 feature films from major Hollywood studios and other producers, including MGM, Sony, Paramount, LionsGate, United Artists, Miramax and more.

Film Platform Collection

(Alexander Street/PQ) Streaming video collection of 400+ titles, curated for academic audiences. Includes selections from prestigious film festivals plus many OSCAR®-nominated and OSCAR®-shortlisted documentaries. Click the red filter button to sort the catalog.

Open OnDemand @ SDCCD

Streaming video collection of instructional videos created by SDCCD faculty and staff. Contact SDCCD Online Learning Pathways for more information.

3C Media Solutions

Streaming video collection. Contains videos created by instructors and students of the California Community Colleges. Check titles to ensure they are captioned.

New York Times Topics About Public Speaking

Loading ...
custom footer