Circulating Materials | Course Reserves | Interlibrary Loan | Media/Videos | Laptops | More Tech
How to Find Circulating Books
Use SDCCD Books+ to find books and other materials offered for checkout from our Library. Circulating materials are shelved on the third floor of the LRC. Please bring your selection(s) to the Circulation Center desk for checkout to take home.
Who Can Check Out Circulating Materials?
Currently-enrolled San Diego Community College District* students, faculty, and staff are eligible to check out circulating materials. You must present your student ID card or any photo ID card to check out materials. You will be held accountable for any use of the card. All fines and holds must be cleared before Library materials may be checked out. The link to my SDCCD Login will show you the status of your checked-out items, holds, fines, etc.; you will need your student ID number to log in.
*College of Continuing Education non-credit students, faculty, and staff do not have borrowing privileges.
What are the Loan Policies (by Type of Material)?
Books:
Media:
Earphones and calculators:
How Do I Put Hold Request on a Book?
You may place a hold request on a book that is currently checked out. Find the book(s) in SDCCD Books+ and then sign into mySDCCD Login to place a hold on a book(s). Sign in using the same information that you use to register for classes. See screenshot below:
You may return materials (including Reserve circulating materials) in the following manner:
Book drop slot
***Payment of library fines must be made through the City College Accounting Office (A-256). Please see their web site.***
Overdue Material Fine Structure
A fine will be charged on all Library materials not returned within the allotted grace period and may result in a suspension of circulation privileges until the matter is resolved. The fine structure is as follows (as stated in Board Policy 3300, Student Fee Schedule - Attachment 1, Sections l and m):
| Collection | Fine Amount |
| General Circulating Materials | A cumulative $2.00 overdue fine ($0.25 per day x 8 days) shall be assessed per item for failure to return books within 7 days of the posted due date. Additionally, a charge of $0.25 per day excluding holidays will also be assessed per item after the imposition of the overdue fine until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the book. Note: Not applicable for ECC |
| Reserves Circulating Materials | A $2.00 overdue fine shall be assessed per item for failure to return Reserve Library on posted due date. Additionally, a charge of $.50 per day will also be assessed per item after the imposition of the overdue fine until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material, plus a $7.00 processing fee. |
| Reserves Non-Circulating (Library Use Only) Print Materials | A fine of $5.00 per day shall be assessed per item for the unauthorized removal of print (e.g., books, photocopies) Reserve Library Use Only materials from the library until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material. |
| Reserves Non-Circulating (Library Use Only) Non-Print Media | A fine of $10.00 per day shall be assessed per item for unauthorized removal of non-print (e.g., videos, CD-ROMs) Reserve Library Use Only materials from the library until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material. The fine is $5 a day for earphones and calculators if taken from the building. |
| Lost (over 120 days past due) | Replacement cost of item plus $7.00 fee. |
Student Record Freeze (Administrative Hold)
An administrative hold will be placed on a student's college record when they accrue any charges/fines for overdue books and/or lost material. A student's circulation privileges may be suspended for outstanding fines. If fines are not paid, the student may not be able to register for classes, request transcripts, obtain grades, etc. A hold will be removed once all Library materials are returned and/or fines paid.
What are Course Reserves?
Course Reserves are assigned materials, such as textbooks, which are made available by instructors for use in the Library or for special loan periods. Reserve materials may include supplemental class readings, photocopied articles, videos and audio files, and sample tests. We do not have electronic reserves.
How Do I Find Course Reserves?
Go the the Library's home page and use the Start Your Research Here! box, clicking the tab for Course Reserves. Type in the title of the book you need. When you find the listing, you will need to write down the call number and the title and take it to the Circulation Center desk for a staff member to find the book. Reserve books are first come, first served and cannot be held. If you need assistance finding reserve materials, please ask a librarian at the Information Center desk.
An option of a class specific reserve set is available in our restricted reserve collection, please contact us for more information.
To return a course reserve, bring it to the Circulation Desk. You may hand it to a staff member or put it in the book return slot in the desk.
***Payment of library fines must be made through the City College Accounting Office (A-256). Please see their web site.***
Overdue Material Fine Structure
A fine will be charged on all Library materials not returned within the allotted grace period and may result in a suspension of circulation privileges until the matter is resolved. The fine structure is as follows (as stated in Board Policy 3300, Student Fee Schedule - Attachment 1, Sections l and m):
| Collection | Fine Amount |
| General Circulating Materials | A cumulative $2.00 overdue fine ($0.25 per day x 8 days) shall be assessed per item for failure to return books within 7 days of the posted due date. Additionally, a charge of $0.25 per day excluding holidays will also be assessed per item after the imposition of the overdue fine until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the book. Note: Not applicable for ECC |
| Reserves Circulating Materials | A $2.00 overdue fine shall be assessed per item for failure to return Reserve Library on posted due date. Additionally, a charge of $.50 per day will also be assessed per item after the imposition of the overdue fine until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material, plus a $7.00 processing fee. |
| Reserves Non-Circulating (Library Use Only) Print Materials | A fine of $5.00 per day shall be assessed per item for the unauthorized removal of print (e.g., books, photocopies) Reserve Library Use Only materials from the library until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material. |
| Reserves Non-Circulating (Library Use Only) Non-Print Media | A fine of $10.00 per day shall be assessed per item for unauthorized removal of non-print (e.g., videos, CD-ROMs) Reserve Library Use Only materials from the library until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material. The fine is $5 a day for earphones and calculators if taken from the building. |
| Lost (over 120 days past due) | Replacement cost of item plus $7.00 fee. |
Student Record Freeze (Administrative Hold)
An administrative hold will be placed on a student's college record when they accrue any charges/fines for overdue books and/or lost material. A student's circulation privileges may be suspended for outstanding fines. If fines are not paid, the student may not be able to register for classes, request transcripts, obtain grades, etc. A hold will be removed once all Library materials are returned and/or fines paid.
What is Interlibrary Loan?
How to Get a Book from Mesa or Miramar:
If SDCCD Books+ indicates that a book you need is shelved in the circulating collection at Mesa or Miramar College libraries, you can either:
Put in a request: Find the book in SDCCD Books+ and click its title to open the screen that has detailed information on the book. Click the link for mySDCCD Login (see yellow screenshot above) to log in using the same information that you use to register for classes. When prompted, follow the directions to input your contact info so you can be notified when the book becomes available for pickup at our Circulation Desk. (If you'd rather fill out a paper form, you can also go to the Information Center desk on the main level of the City Learning Resource Center (Library) where a librarian will assist you in filling out a form that you will then take to the Circulation Center for processing.) You will be notified via telephone or email when your materials are ready to be picked up at City College Library. The process may take 3 to 5 working days, so please plan accordingly.
OR
Go to that library (Mesa or Miramar) that has the desired book, and use your ID to check out the book immediately. The checkout period will be for the length determined by the other library (Mesa or Miramar).
Checkout Limits for Interlibrary Loans
You may return Interlibrary loan materials from Mesa or Miramar in the following manner:
***Payment of library fines must be made through the City College Accounting Office (A-256). Please see their web site.***
Overdue Material Fine Structure
A fine will be charged on all Library materials not returned within the allotted grace period and may result in a suspension of circulation privileges until the matter is resolved. The fine structure is as follows (as stated in Board Policy 3300, Student Fee Schedule - Attachment 1, Sections l and m):
| Collection | Fine Amount |
| General Circulating Materials | A cumulative $2.00 overdue fine ($0.25 per day x 8 days) shall be assessed per item for failure to return books within 7 days of the posted due date. Additionally, a charge of $0.25 per day excluding holidays will also be assessed per item after the imposition of the overdue fine until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the book. Note: Not applicable for ECC |
| Reserves Circulating Materials | A $2.00 overdue fine shall be assessed per item for failure to return Reserve Library on posted due date. Additionally, a charge of $.50 per day will also be assessed per item after the imposition of the overdue fine until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material, plus a $7.00 processing fee. |
| Reserves Non-Circulating (Library Use Only) Print Materials | A fine of $5.00 per day shall be assessed per item for the unauthorized removal of print (e.g., books, photocopies) Reserve Library Use Only materials from the library until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material. |
| Reserves Non-Circulating (Library Use Only) Non-Print Media | A fine of $10.00 per day shall be assessed per item for unauthorized removal of non-print (e.g., videos, CD-ROMs) Reserve Library Use Only materials from the library until the accumulated charges equal the replacement cost of the material. The fine is $5 a day for earphones and calculators if taken from the building. |
| Lost (over 120 days past due) | Replacement cost of item plus $7.00 fee. |
Student Record Freeze (Administrative Hold)
An administrative hold will be placed on a student's college record when they accrue any charges/fines for overdue books and/or lost material. A student's circulation privileges may be suspended for outstanding fines. If fines are not paid, the student may not be able to register for classes, request transcripts, obtain grades, etc. A hold will be removed once all Library materials are returned and/or fines paid.
What is in the Media Collection?
The physical Media Collection is primarily composed of a few hundred video titles in DVD format and a few CDs. The collection is housed at the Circulation Desk. Students must use media items in the library; faculty may check out media items for classroom use. The library also has a collection of streaming video, which may be viewed online (including off-campus) by students.
How Do I Get a Video?
Different collections of videos for faculty and staff.
SUPPORT:
LAPTOP CHECKOUTS:
Applications for the laptop loaner program are currently being accepted for the Spring 2024 semester. All laptops checked out during the current semester will be due back at the end of the semester. Applications for Summer 2024 semester open up on May 28th. Any applications submitted prior to that date will not be processed. A laptop will not be issued until your class begins.
Attention students: Need a laptop? Our laptop loaner program provides a limited number of laptops to eligible San Diego City College students, ensuring they have the necessary technology for their studies. To qualify, you must be actively enrolled at City College in at least one course for the current semester. We expect that these resources will be utilized solely for educational purposes. Please adhere to the following application instructions to determine your eligibility:
We understand the importance of having access to technology for your academic success, and we are committed to supporting you during this time. If you encounter any issues with your laptop or require software installations, please email dgonzale@sdccd.edu We are here to assist you with any technical concerns.
In order to maintain the integrity of this program, participants are required to adhere to the rules and guidelines provided at check out. Any history of damaged, mistreated, misused laptops or late returns can result in disqualification from the program. We take this matter seriously and expect full cooperation from all participants.
In the event that you experience any issues such as loss, theft, or damage to the laptop, it is imperative that you report it immediately to our staff. Please contact us at to report any such incidents.
**You may also want to check the SD Access 4 All program for available resources, including loaner laptops and mobile hotspots; the program works through participating public libraries and parks.
Remember, computer desktop workstations are also available for use in the SDCC Library during our business hours.
LAPTOP RETURNS:
If you are faculty, you can request a 6-month extension by contacting Majeda Nasrawi at mnasrawsi@sdccd.edu.
Returning a Device?Please note that all laptops must be returned to the Library during business hours. However, if for some reason you are unable to return the laptop during those hours, you may securely place it in the book return slot. Please make sure the laptop is placed in securely to prevent any damage. If you have further questions about the loner program please contact Daniel Gonzalez, Library Circulation Supervisor, atdgonzale@sdccd.edu or call 6193883322
The Library has other technology hardware available for use while you are in the LRC. Please ask at the Circulation Desk.
Your student ID card = your Library ID card
The Circulation Desk is where you check out and return books. If you need to return a book after hours, a book drop is available outside the library entrance, to the left of the elevator.
The Information Desk is staffed by librarians who are there to help you with your research questions. Please ask us!
