Find articles published in periodicals (also known as journals, newspapers, and magazines) by looking in these collections:
Databases
Databases are collections you can search through online to find information on your topic. Specific databases of articles related to the subject area of this guide are featured below. The full listing of 70+ databases can be found in our A-Z Databases list.
Need a refresher on using a library database? Try this guide: Using Library Databases
Electronic Periodicals
These databases are focused on article collections from news and newspapers.
Print (hardcopy) Periodicals
These publications on a variety of topics are located in the Library near the Circulation Desk and the Print Station, under the "Periodicals and Newspapers" sign. The display shelves can be raised for access to two years of back issues (except newspapers). Some titles have web sites also.
(EBSCO) Articles on business topics, plus company profiles and market research, industry, and country reports. Includes cybersecurity topics related to business. Some full text.
(Gale) Health, medicine, and nursing topics geared towards health practitioners, patients, and consumers. Browsable topics may include overviews, treatment options, patient questions, and vocabulary written for the layperson. Full-text reference books and journal articles.
(Gale) Health, medicine, and nursing topics geared towards nursing students and general students doing scholarly research. Millions of articles in academic journals, magazines, and news sources, with some ebooks. Full text.
(JSTOR) Covers arts & sciences and the life sciences. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Note: The journal collections are "archived" collections, which means this database has the complete run of each journal starting with its first issue up until a certain date, usually excluding the most recent years.
FREE subscription access! _You need to renew each year_. To register for your free pass to the online NYTimes, click HERE. If you created your free account already, click HERE to log in. To get to the New York Times archives, go to the Times Machine at the bottom of the page.
(Proquest) "US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980-present); Wall Street Journal (1984-present); Washington Post (1987-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); and Chicago Tribune (1985-present). New content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform." --vendor description
Print titles are found in the Library's Periodicals & Newspapers area, just past the Circulation Center desk on the entrance level (2nd floor) of the Learning Resource Center (R Building).
| Title | Publisher Web Site |
| Harvard Health Letter | www.health.harvard.edu |
| JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Assoc. | www.jama.com |
| Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter | www.tuftshealthletter.com |
| University of California, Berkeley Wellness Letter | www.WellnessLetter.com |
Does the Library subscribe to a particular magazine or journal you are looking for, like Newsweek or The Journal of Applied Psychology? Check here by title: Journal Finder.
Check the San Diego Public Library's (SDPL) e-Library for more digital magazines you can read online! (Don't worry if you don't yet have a library card from SDPL. You can get a free one here: https://www.sandiego.gov/public-library/services/lending/librarycard.)
