Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Radio, Television and Film

Access the AP Stylebook Online here!

Ebooks in the Spotlight

Image is the cover art for this title

A Short History of Film

The history of international cinema is now available in a concise, conveniently sized, and affordable volume. Succinct yet comprehensive, A Short History of Film provides an accessible overview of the major movements, directors, studios, and genres from the 1880s to the present. More than 250 rare stills and illustrations accompany the text, bringing readers face to face with many of the key players and films that have marked the industry. Beginning with precursors of what we call moving pictures, Wheeler Winston Dixon and Gwendolyn Audrey Foster lead a fast-paced tour through the invention of the kinetoscope, the introduction of sound and color between the two world wars, and ultimately the computer generated imagery of the present day. They detail significant periods in world cinema, including the early major industries in Europe, the dominance of the Hollywood studio system in the 1930s and 1940s, and the French New Wave of the 1960s. Special attention is also given to small independent efforts in developing nations and the corresponding more personal independent film movement that briefly flourished in the United States, the significant filmmakers of all nations, censorship and regulation and how they have affected production everywhere, and a wide range of studios and genres. 

Image is the cover art for this title

Recording voiceover: the spoken word in media

The only book on the market to specifically address its audience, Recording Voiceover is the comprehensive guide for engineers looking to understand the aspects of capturing the spoken word. Discussing all phases of the recording session, Recording Voiceover addresses everything from microphone recommendations for voice recording to pre-production considerations, including setting up the studio, working with and directing the voice talent, and strategies for reducing or eliminating distracting noise elements found in human speech. Recording Voiceover features in-depth, specific recommendations for recording radio and television commercials, corporate communications, documentaries, tracks for gaming and animation, radio drama, interviews and roundtable discussions. A discussion of the voice in film and television is also included. Special attention is paid to the final release format and its impact on recording strategies. Exploration of using telephone interfaces - including both analogue and digital ISDN, as well as recording across the internet - is included.

Image is the cover art for this title

The art of illusion : production design for film and television

Film production is a highly creative and collaborative industry, full of multi-skilled artists and craftsmen. The fast-moving pace of technology makes it hard to keep abreast of current practices in production design. However, the ethos and skills behind filmmaking remain the same. In The Art of Illusion, renowned Art Director Terry Ackland-Snow shares his passion and knowledge of traditional film design from over fifty years of industry experience, using real-life case studies from some of the UK's most iconic films, including Batman, Labyrinth, the James Bond franchise and The Deep. Featuring over 100 original sketches, as well as rare behind-the-scenes photographs, storyboards and artwork, this book is exquisitely illustrated throughout, demonstrating the skills and techniques of film design with stunning intricacy. This is an essential guide for anyone aspiring to a career in production design, and will be of great value to all movie enthusiasts who are interested in the art of creating a film set. Superbly illustrated with 238 illustrations featuring over 100 original sketches, as well as rare behind-the scenes photographs.

Image is the cover art for this title

Total sportscasting: performance, production, and career development

Whether you want to be in front of the camera, on the microphone, or behind the scenes, Total Sportscasting gives you the skills you'll need to become successful in this dynamic industry. This book covers everything from performance and production techniques to all aspects of sportscasting, good broadcast writing techniques, and how best to forge lasting relationships with team personnel. It also delves into the unique issues facing women sportscasters. And when it comes to breaking into the business, Total Sportscasting devotes entire chapters to career development and demo reel production. For important perspective, we've also included chapters on the history of sportscasting and attempts to glimpse into its future. Total Sportscasting is packed with a variety of features for both learning and instructing: Complete coverage of every aspect of the sportscast, helping you prepare for any platform--TV, radio, and the web Interviews with successful sports journalists, producers, and directors who give you an inside look into the real-world practices of the industry A companion website, which provides additional resources for both instructors and students, including video and audio examples and links to additional resources: www.totalsportscasting.com

Image is the cover art for this title

The art of the storyboard: a filmmaker's introduction

Communicate your vision, tell your story and plan major scenes with simple, effective storyboarding techniques. Using sketches of shots from classic films, from silents to the present day, John Hart leads you through the history and evolution of this craft to help you get to grips with translating your vision onto paper, from the rough sketch to the finished storyboard. More than 150 illustrations from the author's and other storyboard artists' work illuminate the text throughout to help you master the essential components of storyboarding, such as framing, placement of figures, and camera angles. Level: Novice

Image is the cover art for this title

No news Is bad news: radio, television and the public

This volume of collected essays provides a wide-ranging survey of the state of radio and television, especially the idea of public service broadcasting, and of news, current affairs and documentary programming in America, Australia, the UK and the rest of western Europe. Among the key issues it addresses are the 'dumbing down' of TV news, the infotainment factor in current affairs shows and the disappearance of the documentary. Using contemporary cases and examples - from the row over the scheduling of News at Ten in the UK to the creation of ABC News Online in Australia -- the essays link the performance of radio and television at the turn of the millennium with the processes of deregulation, liberalisation and digitalisation which have been evident since the 1980s. Working from a much needed and original comparative approach which encompasses complex and well-established public broadcasting in the USA as well as emerging and vulnerable participatory radio stations in El Salvador, the book sets a variety of experiences of factual radio and television programming within wider political and cultural contexts. It offers analyses of not only the 'problems' associated with news, current affairs and documentary broadcasting in an era of a declining public service ethos and the apparent triumph of the market, however. 

Female Action Heroes

This book offers 25 profiles of some of the most popular female action heroes throughout the history of film, television, comic books, and video games. Female action heroes, like other fictional characters, not only reveal a lot about society, but greatly influence individuals in society. It is no surprise that the gradual development and increase in the number of female action heroes coincides with societal changes and social movements, such as feminism. Nor is it a surprise that characteristics of female action heroes echo the progressive toughening of women and young girls in the media. Female Action Heroes: A Guide to Women in Comics, Video Games, Film, and Television brings to the forefront the historical representation of women and girls in film, television, comic books, and video games. The book includes profiles of 25 of the most popular female action heroes, arranged in alphabetical order for easy reference. Each chapter includes sections on the hero's origins, her power suit, weapons, abilities, and the villains with whom she grapples. Most significantly, each profile offers an analysis of the hero's story--and her impact on popular culture. 

Image is the cover art for this title

Almost Hollywood, nearly New Orleans: the lure of the local film economy

A free ebook version of this title is available through Luminos, University of California Press's Open Access publishing program. Visit www.luminosoa.org to learn more. Early in the twenty-first century, Louisiana, one of the poorest states in the United States, redirected millions in tax dollars from the public coffers in an effort to become the top location site globally for the production of Hollywood films and television series. Why would lawmakers support such a policy? Why would citizens accept the policy's uncomfortable effects on their economy and culture? Almost Hollywood, Nearly New Orleans addresses these questions through a study of the local and everyday experiences of the film economy in New Orleans, Louisiana--a city that has twice pursued the goal of becoming a movie production capital. From the silent era to today's Hollywood South, Vicki Mayer explains that the aura of a film economy is inseparable from a prevailing sense of home, even as it changes that place irrevocably.

Radio, Film, and Television Databases- Find articles here!

Academic Search Complete

(EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database provides articles covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and other subjects. Some full text. Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines; nearly 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR

(JSTOR) JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I, II, III, VI and VII includes archived scholarly full-text articles covering topics such as archaeology, classics, ecology, economics, history, mathematics, political science, sociology, and statistics. Also covers African, Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies. JSTOR Life Sciences collection includes topics such as aquatic science, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, and zoology. Also covers medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health. Note: "archived" means this database excludes the most recent years of these journals, but usually has the complete run of each title from volume 1 onwards.

New York Times

To register for your free pass to the online NYTimes, click HERE. If you created your free account already, click HERE to log in.

Vocational & Career Collection

(EBSCO) Articles from over 330 trade and industry related periodicals. Some full text.

Newspaper Source Plus

(EBSCO) Full-text newspaper articles, television and radio news transcripts.

Web Sites in the Spotlight!

Here are just a few of the many web sites relevant to radio, television and film:

Film and TV Organizations:

Film Festivals:

Radio Organizations:

Streaming Video Databases

Films on Demand

(Infobase Learning) Streaming video collection of over 38,500 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips on a variety of subject areas. Captioning available *except* for non-English-language videos and videos without dialogue. Note that recently-added videos may take up to 3 weeks to get captioned.

Kanopy playlist

This is a curated Kanopy playlist of streaming video documentary films, all captioned. New titles are added by faculty request when funds are available. Click a title for access:
The Codes of Gender || Delano Manongs || Life After Life || Olmec Civilization Emerges || Precious Knowledge
Public Performance Rights (outside the classroom)
"Viewing films in a group forum is permitted for most films as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening). Feel free to contact us and we can confirm if the film is available for a showing to a group forum." Do Kanopy videos include Public Performance Rights?

Open OnDemand @ SDCCD

Streaming video collection of instructional videos created by SDCCD faculty and staff. Contact SDCCD Online Learning Pathways for more information.

Swank Digital Campus

Streaming video collection of over 290 feature films from major Hollywood studios and other producers, including MGM, Sony, Paramount, LionsGate, United Artists, Miramax and more.

3C Media Solutions

Streaming video collection. Contains videos created by instructors and students of the California Community Colleges. Check titles to ensure they are captioned.

NPR- Movies

Loading ...

NPR- Television

Loading ...
custom footer