Sociology

A list of Notable Sociologist is too extensive to be included here.  Below are just a few you may be interested in knowing:

• One Degree Many Futures: This list from Fresno State includes, Michelle Obama, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Saul Bellow and more.
• Famous Sociology Majors: This list from St. Lawrence University includes people from a variety of professions (sports, broadcasting, politics, the arts and so on) who have Sociology degrees.

Websites - free access - See San Diego and California specific resources below

• American Sociological Association
• Annual Review of Sociology: Reviews "in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology." If you encounter an access problem and are part of the City College community, please access via Academic Search Complete an/or ask a librarian for help.
• Association of Black Sociologists 
• California Sociological Association
• Latina / Latino Sociology Award Recipient History from the American Sociological Association
• Sociology:  This page from Encyclopedia Britannica provides a definition, a history, and methodology and so on.

Note: Check with your professor about the kind of resources acceptable for your paper or project.

Videos and Clips

Access to City College streaming videos is through our home page.

• Click on A-Z Databases
• Scroll down to Films on Demand, Swank, National Theatre Collection, Kanopy, or Film Platform.
• Films on Demand provides access to video collection for over 38,500 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips in a variety of subject areas.  
• Swank provides access to 300+/- feature films from major Hollywood studios and producers.
• If on campus, you may view DVDs in the Library.  Find the DVD you want via our catalog, SDCCD Books+, on the home page.  Pick up the DVD from the Circulation Counter and take it to R105 (downstairs) to view.  Faculty can take DVDs home for a week.

E-Books from our Databases

From our database page, scroll down to Gale e-Books and you will be able to search many quality encyclopedias all at once or individually including but NOT LIMITED TO

• Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & Africa

E-Books from our Library catalog

To search for e-books in City College Library Catalog, start on our home page.

• Click Advanced Search
• Click SDCCD Books+
• Type in your search term(s) like alcoholism
• Press SEARCH
• Now Refine your Search Results appears in the left column
• Click on Available Online

NOTES

• Print books are also accessed via the process above.  To find it, note the campus (City, Mesa or Miramar) and the call number.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help.
• Do NOT refine your search by clicking on City College.  This seems to omit many books to which you have access
• FYI your username is your 10 digit ID number and your password is your last name.

For City College Students: Access databases containing articles from newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed scholarly journals through our home page.

• Click on A-Z Databases
• Scroll down for a quick look at the topics in each database. Ebsco’s Academic Search Complete is a robust database with articles on just about everything and is often a good place to start.
• Some databases include articles from journals magazines and newspapers as well as books.  If you are unsure what kind of resource you have, ask us on 24/7 chat on our home page or ask your instructor.
• The databases that say they include “scholarly or peer reviewed” resources may also contain popular resources.  If so, it is likely you will find a way to limit to either the scholarly/peer reviewed sources or the popular sources.
• Choose a database and use its Advance Search
• Use your topic terms and alternative terms when searching.  For example, if you are interested in
  • Tuskegee Airmen, also search for World War II airforce, Blacks in World War II, Blacks in the military
  • Benin Bronzes, also search for African sculpture, African art
  • child abuse effect on learning also search for children reading levels or adult survivors of abuse and development.
  • To find a term in both its singular and plural form, add an * to its singular form (e.g. child* will retrieve child's, children, childhood and so on)

Specific Databases of Interest (Access these and explore the 65+ other databases such as and JStor and Aand the New York Times back to 1851 via the A-Z databases link on the library's home page.)

• Academic Search Complete: "Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines; nearly 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals."
• American History and Life ("History and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.")
• Black Life in America ("Sourced from nearly 20,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to the present, including over 400 African American newspapers. Updated daily.")
• Ethnic NewsWatch ("Articles from ethnic, minority and native press publications.")
• Hispanic Life in America: "Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspapers, including almost 450 Hispanic American newspapers. Updated daily."
• U.S. Major Dailies: "The New York Times (1980-present); Wall Street Journal (1984-present); Washington Post (1987-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); and Chicago Tribune (1985-present). New content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day."

Get Help San Diego City College LIBRARY Home Page

For simple questions about the library, email us at citylib@sdccd.edu

Get help finding the books and articles you need via 24/7 chat or set up an in-person or zoom one-on-one or small groups with a librarian.

When open, come by the City College Library (R Building) and discuss what you need with a faculty-librarian at the Information Desk (reference).  Or call us at 619-388-3288.

Learn how to do research.  From the Library's homepage, click on Research Guides and then scroll down to

• Research Step-By-Step  or
• Information Literacy: Basic Research Skills (a short free OER text book)