Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Education

Books @ SDCC Library

Use OneSearch or SDCCD Books+ to look for books in these collections: 

Electronic Books: 

San Diego City College Library has over 90,000 electronic books available to read online. A detailed list of e-collections is available in the guide Using e-Books.

Print Books:

San Diego City College Library has over 4500 print (hardcopy) books in its Reference Collection on the second floor and 60,000 print books in its Circulating Collection, located on the third floor.  

See below for featured titles!

Books (Recently Added) for Nursing Education

The Library recently (April 2021) acquired the new titles below through a CTEA grant for Nursing Education. To connect to each title, use this EBSCO e-Book search box and type in (or copy + paste) any one of the titles from the list below:

EBSCO e-books
To find one of these e-books, type (or copy + paste) its title into the search box above: 
 
Adolescent and Adult Sexual Assault Assessment 2e (2018)
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Practice Guidelines (2018)
Berkowitz's Pediatrics : A Primary Care Approach (2020)
Complementary & Alternative Therapies in Nursing, Eight Edition (2018)
Correctional Nursing : Scope and Standards of Practice, Third Edition (2020)
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care : An Introductory Text (2018)
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications, 8e (2019)
Davis's Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual 6e (2019)
Disaster Public Health and Older People (2020)
Essentials for Nursing Practice - E-Book (2019)
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice, Sixth Edition (2021)
Evidence-Based Physical Examination : Best Practices for Health & Well-Being Assessment (2021)
Gerontological Nursing : Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Edition (2019)
Guide to Clinical Documentation (2018)
Handbook of Clinical Skills : Second Edition (2019)
Handbook of Pediatric Infection Prevention and Control (2019)
Handbook of Supportive Oncology and Palliative Care : Whole-Person and Value-based Care (2019)
Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Context, Controversies, and Solutions (2021)
Health Policy and Politics: A Nurse's Guide (2019)
Holistic Nursing : Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition (2019)
Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice (2020)
Law for Nurse Leaders, Second Edition (2018)
Leadership and Management Competence in Nursing Practice : Competencies, Skills, Decision-Making (2019)
Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Health Care (2019)
Lippincott Visual Nursing : A Guide to Clinical Diseases, Skills, and Treatments (2019)
Migrant Health : A Primary Care Perspective (2019)
Neeb's Mental Health Nursing (2019)
Nurse As Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice (2019)
Nurses Making Policy, Second Edition : From Bedside to Boardroom (2019)
Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy (2019)
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice (2020)
Nursing: Health Education and Improving Patient Self-Management (2018)
Oxford Handbook of Adult Nursing (2018)
Palliative Care Nursing : Quality Care to the End of Life (2019)
Patient Evaluation, Data Collection, and Communication (2019)
Pediatric Physical Examination - E-Book : An Illustrated Handbook (2019)
Physical Assessment of the Newborn : A Comprehensive Approach to the Art of Physical Examination (2019)
Policy and Politics for Nurses and Other Health Professionals (2020)
Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual, Third Edition: The Henry Street Model for Nurses (2018)
Professional Nursing Concepts: Competencies for Quality Leadership (2019)
School Nursing : Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition (2017)
Still Not Safe : Patient Safety and the Middle-Managing of American Medicine (2020)
Storytelling with Data : Let's Practice! (2020)
The Maternal Health Crisis in America : Nursing Implications for Advocacy and Practice (2019)
The Small Guide to Alzheimer's Disease (2020)
Wright & Leahey's Nurses and Families : A Guide to Family Assessment and Intervention (2019)
 
 

Books (Electronic) for Nursing Education

San Diego City College Library has access to over 90,000 electronic books.

  • Our EBSCO e-book collection has about 300 Nursing titles published between 2017 and 2021: click here to go to collection (https://tinyurl.com/NRSE2021).
  • A few of the newer e-book titles are highlighted below. Click the links below to check on their availability. You can also use SDCCD Books+ to do your own search to find books in both our print and electronic collections. 

Books (Print) for Nursing Education

How to Locate a Book

Print books are shelved in the Library in an organized system according to call number. Not sure how to use a call number to locate a book on a shelf? Take a quick look at these short explanations:

How to Read Call Numbers (University System of GA)

How to Read Call Numbers (U. of AZ Libraries)

YouTube: How to Read A Library of Congress Call Number (U. of Arkansas Libraries) (2:46)

custom footer