Skip to Main Content

Computer Information Systems (CISC)

includes graphics, networks, operating systems, programming

Computer Information Systems (CISC)

 

code on screen

The Information Technology department's Programming and Software Development area of study at San Diego City College introduces students to essentials of computer programming and software, database, and game development. This guide will help you get started finding information in these areas, including books, articles, web sites, and media materials.

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

See also other library research guides related to Information Technology:

Start Research Here!




Search Tips:

*OneSearch doesn't show you everything! Some databases, like those from EBSCO, may be excluded so you may need to search them separately.

  • To find Books, e-books and reference materials --> Use SDCCD Books+, A-Z Databases, or OneSearch
  • To find Textbooks for your class--> Use Course Reserves
  • To find Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers --> Use A-Z Databases, EBSCO Articles, or OneSearch
  • To find Periodicals by title --> Use Journal Finder or OneSearch
  • To find Videos and media --> Use Videos link, A-Z Databases (choose Films on Demand, Films Platform, Swank, or Kanopy), or OneSearch

Terms to Try

Here's a sampling of computer-related terms to try in the Advanced Search of OneSearch or SDCCD Books+:

  • C++ (Computer program language)
  • Computer graphics
  • Computer networking
  • Computer programming
  • Computer science
  • Java (Computer program language)
  • Microsoft Visual Basic
  • Operating Systems (Computers)

 

The Research Process

See these guides for more detailed information on how to do library research:

**Remote Access Guidelines

Access to Library Resources from Off-Campus Locations

How the login system works: 

When you click on a link for a database article, video, or e-book...

  • Students: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your student email address and your email password. You must be currently taking at least one City College class and have fully paid your tuition and fees in order to log in. If you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name and student ID number.
  • Staff: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are having problems logging in, email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.
  • Faculty: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are not teaching in the current semester/session or you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.

Common issues: 

  • Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.
  • Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.
  • More troubleshooting details here. 
custom footer