San Diego City College Library

Check out these new products and services at the Library! Be sure to tell your students!

SDCC faculty can request to have up to 20% (to check Fair Use, see this evaluation tool) of a book from the library’s collection scanned and emailed to them. Scans for class distribution must be placed on a platform that restricts access to a single class (i.e. Canvas).  See request form for further information and instructions.

The Course Reserves collection is a special collection comprised of materials assigned by instructors. Reserve materials may include supplemental class readings, photocopied articles, videos and audio files, and sample tests. Reserve materials are kept behind the Circulation Center desk.

How to put an item on Reserve (Faculty):

• Provide your own personal copy of an item or select an item from the Library's collection. 
• Use the reserve request form (see below): print it out, complete it, sign it, and deliver it with the materials to the Circulation Center in the Library, located on the entrance level of the Learning Resource Center.
• Notify your students the item is on Reserve -- but please note that processing may take several days from when you drop off materials until the material is actually available for students.

How to borrow an item on Reserve (Students): 

• Find the call number for the Reserve item in the Library's online catalog under the Course Reserves tab.
• Bring that call number to the Circulation Center staff so they can retrieve the item for you from behind the desk.

Did you know that repeated exposure to library instruction can have a positive impact on grades? Sign up your class for one or more of these sessions: 

Got about 90 minutes? Book a library instruction session for your class! On-campus or online. 

A librarian will cover the basics of library research with you and your class in our library computer lab (R209) or in a Zoom session. Includes librarian-led hands-on experience.  We will work with you prior to the session to tailor content to best fit a class assignment. 

Got 30 minutes? Book a guided library tour for your class! On-campus only.

Get your students into the R Building to see what the SDCC Library has to offer! A librarian will show your whole class around and answer questions. This require advance notice so we may accommodate your entire class with an adequate number of librarians. Please call 619-388-3288 or email citylib@sdccd.edu to schedule. See Extra Credit below for student walk-in tours.

• Library Tour Form

Got 5 minutes? Have a librarian do a drop-in presentation in your classroom! On-campus or Online.

A librarian can present a 5 minute talk to your students about the benefits of using the SDCC Library. Please call 619-388-3288 or email citylib@sdccd.edu to schedule.

• 5-Minute Presentation Form

Extra credit opportunities! Tell your students about these other library outreach activities available on a walk-in basis: 

• Walk-in tours for students  (See schedule here)
• Library Workshop Series (More information here)

Faculty librarians are available to develop and maintain subject collections to support the college curriculum. How can we help you? Let us know.

*Note: Sandra Pesce is on reduced load and will not be here in the spring semesters.  If you would like a librarian to contact you between January to June, please email citylib@sdccd.edu

For more information, download the Library's Collection Management Guidelines:

From our Research Guides page, these guides cover information to enhance classroom instruction:

This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license.

Interested in lowering textbook costs for your students? Click this link to learn more about Open Educational Resources (OER) at City College and in our district. 

In addition to the three lactation rooms provided for students and employees on campus, the Library has a private room reserved for employees. Neither a pump nor refrigerator is provided. Mothers are responsible for transportation and proper storage of milk, and for bringing their own equipment, storage containers and cooler.

To access the room, go to the Circulation Desk and borrow the key to R-203 for the duration of your session. Further directions on using the room are posted on the door. 

Several video collections are available for instructional (and student) use. Please see our Videos page for information about performance rights outside the classroom.

Get a quick overview of the Library's search platform (OneSearch) in just a few slides! Full screen and speaker notes/descriptive text available behind the three vertical dots in the control bar.