Psychology: E-Resources you can use from home

Get Help San Diego City College LIBRARY Home Page

For simple questions about the library, email us at citylib@sdccd.edu

Get help finding the books and articles you need via 24/ chat with a librarian

Learn how to do research.  From the Library's homepage, click on Research Guides and then scroll down to

• Research Step-By-Step  or
• Information Literacy: Basic Research Skills (a free OER text book)

When open, come by the City College Library (R Building) and discuss what you need with a faculty-librarian at the Information Desk (reference).  Or call us at 619-388-3288.

For City College Students: Access databases containing articles through our home page.

1) Click on A-Z Databases

• Scroll down for a quick look at the topics in each database. Ebsco’s Academic Search Complete is a robust database with articles on just about everything and is often a good place to start.
• Some databases include articles from journals magazines and newspapers as well as books.  If you are unsure what kind of resource you have, ask us on 24/7 chat on our home page or ask your instructor.
• The databases that say they include “scholarly or peer reviewed” resources may also contain popular resources.  If so, it is likely you will find a way to limit to either the scholarly/peer reviewed sources or the popular sources.

2) Choose a database and use its Advance Search

• Use your topic terms and alternative terms when searching.  For example, if you are interested in
  • depression also search for major depressive disorder
  • family dynamics.  Depending on your interest, also search for parent child relationship, child abuse survivor, adult children of alcoholics

We can help you find the right search terms.  See the top of this page.

Access FREE articles on the web

• PubMed Central
  Access articles free one web via the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.For best results use the Advanced Search.
• Directory of Open Access Journal
  Access about 12,000 full-text scholarly journals

American Psychological Association (APA) writing style

American Psychological Association (APA)

• Publication Manual and other resources free online during the Coronavirus pandemic.

OWL Online Writing Lab from Purdue University

• This site will walk you through the latest APA Publication Manual from how to write the title page through how to cite your sources.

San Diego City College English Center

• The English Center offers online help to improve your writing, cite your sources and more.

E-Books from databases for City College Students

• From our database page, scroll down to Gale e-Books and you will be able to search many quality encyclopedias all at once or individually including but not limited to
  • Abnormal Psychology through the Ages
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
  • Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology
  • Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology
  • Psychology and Behavioral Health
• From our database page, scroll down to JStor.  JStor is primarily articles but has numerous recently published books as well.
  • ​Use the advances search.  Leave "Content I can Access" as the default.  Scroll down and click on books before you  do your searching.  If you don't you will find both books and articles, which may be a great thing.  

E-Books from our Library catalog for City College Students

To search for e-books in City College Library Catalog, start on our home page.

• Click Advanced Search
• Click SDCCD Books+
• Type in your search term(s) like depression, stress, happiness, family dynamics...
• Press SEARCH
• Now Refine your Search Results appears in the left column
• Click on Available Online

NOTES

• Do NOT refine your search by clicking on City College. This seems to omit many books to which we have access.
• Your user name is your 10 digit ID number and your password is your last name.

E-Books free to all on the web (a selected few)

• Between Psychology and Philosophy (2020) by Michael Slote of University of Miami
• Psychology (2014) by Speilman, Dumper, Jenkins and others [OpenStax]
• Research Methods in Psychology (updated 2019) by Jhangiani, Chiang, & Price [OpenEd]

Websites

• American Psychological Association (APA) free articles on Covid-19
• Classics in the History of Psychology from York University Torronto
• Oxford Research Encyclopedias (ORE) Provides an extremely good paragraph overview/definitions for free, but restricts the full encyclopedia entry to fee paying customers.  

Dictionary

• This e-edition of DIctionary of Psychology is offered from the American Psychological Association. (APA)

Videos and Clips

Access to City College streaming videos is through our home page.

• Click on A-Z Databases
• Scroll down to Films on Demand or Swank
• Films on Demand provides access to video collection for over 38,500 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips in a variety of subject areas.  Search using specific terms like “addiction” or “opioids”.
• Swank provides access to over 290 feature films from major Hollywood studios and producers.