SDCC Library: Immigration Resources: Reference Materials

Why Use Reference Materials?

Reference materials include encyclopedias and dictionaries and give an overview of a topic to give you ideas, definitions, or lines of research to follow.

How Do I Do Advanced Searching?

Need a reference book from City's collection? Doing an Advanced Search in the library catalog will allow you to refine your search to a specific campus (City), collection (Reference), and format (print or electronic).

Off-Campus Access

When you click on a database link or an e-book, you will be prompted for your CSID number and last name.

Put in your last name exactly the way you registered for classes.

To log in, you must be taking at least one City College course during the current semester, and have fully paid your tuition and fees.

Faculty and staff:

Faculty: If you are not currently teaching, or if you have problems with your login, please contact citylib@sdccd.edu.
Staff: Request a login by emailing citylib@sdccd.edu.

Find Reference Materials in SDCCD Books+

Click the SDCCD Books + tab below to find reference books and tertiary sources in San Diego City College Library. We have over 4,500 books in our Reference Collection, located on the second floor. We also have electronic reference collections on our A-Z databases page

Advanced Search A-Z Databases | Research Guides | Videos | Journal Finder | Browse Search

Can't find it here? Try another library.

Reference Sources in the Spotlight!

Reference sources come in print and electronic formats. Here are some examples from our collection; click the links below to check on their availability.

Contemporary immigration in America : a state-by-state encyclopedia /
Call Number: Reference Collection JV6465 .C745 2015
State and local immigration issues and policies for all 50 states are thoroughly examined in this unique, up-to-date, and accessibly written encyclopedia...
Encyclopedia of American immigration /
Call Number: Online
Designed and written to be understood by high school students and college undergraduates, this set addresses questions about immigration that students might be expected to ask: where immigrants have come from; how they have adapted to their new homeland;
Encyclopedia of diasporas : immigrant and refugee cultures around the world /
Call Number: Reference Collection JV6225 .E53 2005
Almost every culture has experienced adaptation and assimilation when immigrating to a new country and culture; usually leaving for what is perceived as a "better life". Not only does this diaspora change the country of adoption, but also the country of origin... Diaspora Overviews covers over 20 ethnic groups that have experienced voluntary or forced immigration...
Immigration : a documentary and reference guide /
Call Number: Online
The uncomfortable contemporary realities of immigration, enmeshed as they are in economic, human rights, and national security issues, have once again propelled foreign immigration to the United States toward the top of the list of U.S. domestic policy concerns...Paramount in today's immigration debate, however, are the homeland security concerns rendered acute by the 2001 bombing of the World Trade Center in New York City. The controversial USA PATRIOT Act of 2001 and the Homeland Security Act of 2002 are among the documents surveyed in relation to the contemporary immigration debate.
Immigration and multiculturalism : essential primary sources /
Call Number: online
Provides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art - as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope.