Arabic Language Old

The Languages program at San Diego City College includes the study of Arabic.

"If you're interested in journalism, international law, international business, foreign service, education, communications, humanities, finance, or many other positions that work in international affairs, Arabic can increase your chances of obtaining these careers. If you are interested in learning about Muslim culture, the Middle East, or the Quran, Arabic will enrich your studies. If you know someone who speaks Arabic, learning the language will help you communicate with them and better understand their culture." --Website

This guide will help you get started finding information about Arabic language, including books, articles, web sites, and media materials.

Image "Arabic Language" in the Arabic Al-Bayan Script from Wikimedia Commons

• OneSearch
• SDCCD Books+
• Course Reserves
• EBSCO Articles

Search Tips:

*OneSearch doesn't show you everything! Some databases, like those from EBSCO, are not included so you will need to search them separately.

• To find Books, e-books and reference materials --> Use SDCCD Books+, A-Z Databases, or OneSearch
• To find Textbooks for your class--> Use Course Reserves
• To find Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers --> Use A-Z Databases, EBSCO Articles, or OneSearch
• To find Periodicals by title --> Use Journal Finder or OneSearch
• To find Videos and media --> Use Videos link, A-Z Databases (choose Films on Demand, Swank, or Kanopy), or OneSearch

Here's a sampling of Arabic language-related terms found in the SDCCD Books+:

• Arabic
• Arabic language

1. Select SDCCD Books +

2. Select Subject from the dropdown menu

3. Type in your key term to find

4. Click the Search button to get results

Try these call numbers and headings if you'd like to browse what's on our shelves. 

PJ6001-7144  
Arabic Language

PJ7501-8517  
Arabic Literature

San Diego City College Library has over 4,500 books in its Reference Collection located on the second floor and thousands more in our electronic book collections. Use SDCCD Books+ to find books in both our print and electronic collections. Here are some examples from our reference collection; click the links below to check on their availability.

San Diego City College Library has over 60,000 books in its Circulating Collection, located on the third floor. We also have over 30,000 electronic books. Use SDCCD Books+ to find books in both our print and electronic collections. Here are some examples from our collection; click the links below to check on their availability.

Here are just a few of the many web sites relevant to Arabic language:

Since our library does not subscribe to print newspapers or magazines in Arabic, please use the link below to browse online publications: 

Here are some examples from our collection; click the links below to check on their availability.

Arabic broadcast news and current affairs.