Find articles published in periodicals (also known as journals, newspapers, and magazines) by looking in these collections:
Databases
Databases are collections you can search through online to find information on your topic. Specific databases of articles related to the subject area of this guide are featured below. The full listing of 70+ databases can be found in our A-Z Databases list.
Need a refresher on using a library database? Try this guide: Using Library Databases
Electronic Periodicals
These databases are focused on article collections from news and newspapers.
Print (hardcopy) Periodicals
These publications on a variety of topics are located in the Library near the Circulation Desk and the Print Station, under the "Periodicals and Newspapers" sign. The display shelves can be raised for access to two years of back issues (except newspapers). Some titles have web sites also.
(ProQuest) Covers information technology and computer science topics from over 2000 publications (scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles) in computer science, information systems, computer security, database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets, and the Internet. Full text.
(ProQuest) Collection of over 50,000 e-books, 30,000 hours of video, plus audiobooks and case studies. Provides “on-demand access to a vast collection of titles (including O’Reilly books in early release), courses, videos, case studies, expert playlists, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 other publishers.” Covers business, career development, data, security, software development, web development and more! Full text. See Using E-Books: O'Reilly.
The following titles are available in print on shelves in the Periodicals & Newspaper area of the Library (August 2024 update):
| Advocate African Arts American Conservative American Historical Review American Journal of Nursing American Journal of Sociology American Libraries American Psychologist ASRAE Journal Aztlan Car and Driver Ceramics Monthly Chemical & Engineering News Chronicle of Higher Education Counselor Current Anthropology Current History Dance Esquire Family Relations |
Foundations of Chemistry Gender & Society HPAC Engineering JOPERD Journal of Black Studies Journal of Family Theory & Review Journal of Geology Journal of Marriage and Family Journal of Pediatric Nursing MS New Republic Nursing Nutrition Today La Opinion Pacific Coast Archeological Society Qtly Parabola Paris Match People Physics Today Psychology Today |
San Diego Business Journal San Diego Magazine San Diego Union-Tribune San Diego Voice & Viewpoint Saturday Evening Post Scientific American Smithsonian Sports Illustrated Washingtonian |
Does the Library subscribe to a particular magazine or journal you are looking for, like Newsweek or The Journal of Applied Psychology? Check here by title: Journal Finder.
Check the San Diego Public Library's (SDPL) e-Library for more digital magazines you can read online! (Don't worry if you don't yet have a library card from SDPL. You can get a free one here: https://www.sandiego.gov/public-library/services/lending/librarycard.)
