Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English

Ebooks in the Spotlight

Image is the cover art for this title

Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond

Hone Your Writing Skills for Success in College and in Life! Every student knows that writing a successful college paper is no small undertaking. To make the grade, you need to express your ideas clearly and concisely. So how do you do it? In Essential Writing Skills for College and Beyond, you'll learn down-to-earth strategies for organizing your thoughts, researching the right sources, getting it down on paper...and earning an A. Write any type of college paper: Techniques for writing term papers, essays, creative assignments, and more.

Image is the cover art for this title

Letting go of literary whiteness: antiracist literature instruction for white students

Rooted in examples from their own and others' classrooms, the authors offer discipline-specific practices for implementing antiracist literature instruction in White-dominant schools. Each chapter explores a key dimension of antiracist literature teaching and learning, including designing literature-based units that emphasize racial literacy, selecting literature that highlights voices of color, analyzing Whiteness in canonical literature, examining texts through a critical race lens, managing challenges of race talk, and designing formative assessments for racial literacy and identity growth. Book Features: Specific classroom scenarios and transcripts of race-related challenges that teachers will recognize to help situate suggested strategies. Sample racial literacy objectives, questions, and assessments to guide unit instruction. A literature-based unit that addresses societal racism in A Raisin in the Sun. Assignments for exploring Whiteness in the teaching of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Questions teachers can use to examine To Kill a Mockingbird through a critical race lens. Techniques for managing difficult moments in whole group discussions. Collaborative glossary and exploratory essay assignments to build understanding of race-based concepts and racial identity development.

Image is the cover art for this title

Writing for College: a no-B.S guide

This book guides first-year students through the dos and don'ts of composition, from such basic questions as "Can I use 'I' in a college essay?" to more advanced points about structure and style. Emphasizing the importance of writing in all majors, the author encourages students to find their own voice and to express themselves without jargon or "academese." Tips are provided on concision, use of supporting claims, marshaling arguments, researching topics, documenting sources, and revision.

Image is the cover art for this title

English: an essential grammar

English: An Essential Grammar is written specifically for native speakers, beginning with the basics and going on to deal with phrase, clause and sentence structure, word formation and spelling. This fully revised third edition features new material on: the structure of phrases and clauses light verbs nominal adjectives the Operator preposition to and infinitival to the four thats determiners, prepositions, and common errors With new exercises and answers for all new sections, this Essential Grammar continues to be the ideal reference for anyone who would like to improve their knowledge of English grammar.

Image is the cover art for this title

Writing with sources: a guide for students

The challenges of integrating and citing sources in academic work have expanded in scope and complexity in the digital age, but the basic principles and guidelines for doing so responsibly remain the same. The third edition of Writing with Sources is updated throughout, providing more examples of the proper use and citation of digital and print sources across disciplines--including current conventions specific to MLA, The Chicago Manual of Style, APA, and CSE citation styles--while preserving its concise and accessible format.

Image is the cover art for this title

Thinking on the page : a college student's guide to effective writing

Take Charge of Your Writing--and Dazzle Your Instructors! It can be a challenge to achieve writing excellence, but it doesn't have to be mysterious, and it's definitely not impossible. To present powerful ideas effectively in your college essays, you need to break away from rigid rules and structures and start thinking on the page. With this book, you'll learn how to actively engage with a text, analyze it, draw informed conclusions, and then make solid claims about what you have observed. Thinking on the Page will also help you: Think critically about what you're reading and draw questions and ideas directly from the text Approach your essay as a story rather than a formula Work through your ideas by graphing, listing, charting, and drawing Incorporate relevant outside research Edit your final essay and polish it to perfection Whether you're in college or high school, you need to communicate your ideas effectively through writing. Thinking on the Page provides innovative tools tailored to the way you learn and write, enabling you to produce thoughtful, analytical, and meaningful work, both in school and beyond.

Image is the cover art for this title

The best punctuation book, period : a comprehensive guide for every writer, editor, student, and businessperson

This all-in-one reference is a quick and easy way for book, magazine, online, academic, and business writers to look up sticky punctuation questions for all styles including AP (Associated Press), MLA (Modern Language Association), APA (American Psychological Association), and Chicago Manual of Style. These days, writers wear many different hats: they write magazine and news articles, sales copy, online newsletters, books, and reports. It's hard to keep the punctuation style rules for each one straight--until now. This comprehensive reference from grammar guru June Casagrande is organized by punctuation type to give writers quick answers no matter what they're writing for. The Best Punctuation Book, Period provides clear answers to common questions about hyphenation, commas, apostrophes, numbers, and italics; a Punctuation A to Z section addressing commonly confused terms in one master list; and rulings from an expert Punctuation Panel on gray areas. With this resource in hand, writers will be able to craft polished, appropriate prose for every job in a flash.

Image is the cover art for this title

How to write effective business English: your guide to excellent professional communication

Do you need a confidence boost in your workplace communication? Whether you speak English as an additional language, or you're a native speaker looking to take your writing to the next level, How to Write Effective Business English provides easy to apply guidance on how to express yourself in writing clearly, concisely, and confidently. With case studies from companies such as Innocent and Virgin which demonstrate how English is used internationally in business, and ideas to help you get your communications right first time, this book is ideal for multinational companies where communication is a priority. For native English speakers, it may mean un-learning things you were taught at school and learning how to save time by getting to the point more quickly in emails; for intermediate English speakers, it focuses on the areas that are easy to get wrong. Author Fiona Talbot uses real international business scenarios to help you develop and apply your skills, and provide you with answers that even your boss might not know. You will learn a system to help you quickly and easily write emails, letters, social media content, CVs and more. 

English Databases- Find articles here!

Gale eBooks

(Gale) Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library. Reference books, including encyclopedias, almanacs, and biographical books. Full text.

EBSCO eBooks

(EBSCO) Over 30,000 electronic books from EBSCO. Full text.
Video Tutorial: Reading EBSCO e-Books

Literature Resource Center

(Gale) Biographical information, overviews, & literary criticism on writers and playwrights. Includes the contents of three series: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Full text.

Magill On Literature Plus

(EBSCO) Critical essays and character profiles covering works of fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. Biographical essays and genre overviews. Some full text.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

(Gale) Formerly called Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Full-text articles, primary documents, & website links on controversial issues.

EBSCOhost Multi-Database Search

(EBSCO) Use this link to simultaneously search most EBSCO databases to which City College Library subscribes Some full text.

Academic Search Complete

(EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database provides articles covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and other subjects. Some full text. Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines; nearly 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.

New York Times

To register for your free pass to the online NYTimes, click HERE. If you created your free account already, click HERE to log in.

JSTOR

(JSTOR) JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I, II, III, VI and VII includes archived scholarly full-text articles covering topics such as archaeology, classics, ecology, economics, history, mathematics, political science, sociology, and statistics. Also covers African, Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies. JSTOR Life Sciences collection includes topics such as aquatic science, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, and zoology. Also covers medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health. Note: "archived" means this database excludes the most recent years of these journals, but usually has the complete run of each title from volume 1 onwards.

Oxford Reference Online

(Oxford) Reference materials on general and specific subjects. Includes illustrations, maps, biographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries and more. Dictionary and encyclopedia entries, quotes, etc. Some full text.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

(EBSCO) Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries on a variety of subject areas. Full text.

Web Sites in the Spotlight!

Here are just a few of the many web sites relevant to English:

Websites Useful for Writing About Issues

Streaming Video Databases

Films on Demand

(Infobase Learning) Streaming video collection of over 38,500 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips on a variety of subject areas. Captioning available *except* for non-English-language videos and videos without dialogue. Note that recently-added videos may take up to 3 weeks to get captioned.

Kanopy playlist

This is a curated Kanopy playlist of streaming video documentary films, all captioned. New titles are added by faculty request when funds are available. Click a title for access:
The Codes of Gender || Delano Manongs || Life After Life || Olmec Civilization Emerges || Precious Knowledge
Public Performance Rights (outside the classroom)
"Viewing films in a group forum is permitted for most films as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening). Feel free to contact us and we can confirm if the film is available for a showing to a group forum." Do Kanopy videos include Public Performance Rights?

Swank Digital Campus

Streaming video collection of over 290 feature films from major Hollywood studios and other producers, including MGM, Sony, Paramount, LionsGate, United Artists, Miramax and more.

Film Platform Collection

(Alexander Street/PQ) Streaming video collection of 400+ titles, curated for academic audiences. Includes selections from prestigious film festivals plus many OSCAR®-nominated and OSCAR®-shortlisted documentaries. Click the red filter button to sort the catalog.

Open OnDemand @ SDCCD

Streaming video collection of instructional videos created by SDCCD faculty and staff. Contact SDCCD Online Learning Pathways for more information.

3C Media Solutions

Streaming video collection. Contains videos created by instructors and students of the California Community Colleges. Check titles to ensure they are captioned.

NPR- Author Reviews

Loading ...
custom footer