This page hosts a list of databases available through San Diego City College Library recommended for English Composition research. For a full list of our databases, click here.
(EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database provides articles covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and other subjects. Some full text. Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines; nearly 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. Note: The Classic UI for Academic Search Complete will be replaced by the New UI after August 1, 2025.
(EBSCO) The Classic UI will be replaced by the New UI after August 1, 2025 .Use this link to simultaneously search the EBSCO databases to which SDCC Library subscribes: Academic Search Complete, Alt HealthWatch, America: History and Life, Business Source Premier, CINAHL Plus, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCO eBook Collection, EBSCO eBook Community College Collections, ERIC, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, History Reference Source, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA), MagillOnLiterature Plus, MAS Ultra, MasterFILE Complete, MEDLINE, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires, Primary Search, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Regional Business News, Science Full Text Select, Vocational and Career Collection.
(JSTOR) Covers arts & sciences and the life sciences. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Note: The journal collections are "archived" collections, which means this database has the complete run of each journal starting with its first issue up until a certain date, usually excluding the most recent years.
(Gale) Formerly called Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Full-text articles, primary documents, & website links on controversial issues.
(Proquest) "US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980-present); Wall Street Journal (1984-present); Washington Post (1987-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); and Chicago Tribune (1985-present). New content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform." --vendor description
