Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian Language

Ebooks

Why Use Books/Ebooks?

Books are good for in-depth information that covers many issues of a topic. They can be physical books or online.

Reference materials include encyclopedias and dictionaries and give an overview of a topic to give you ideas, definitions, or lines of research to follow. Physical reference books cannot be taken out of the library.

Circulating books means you can take them out of the library for a long period of time. The Circulating Collection is on the third floor.

How to Find Books/Ebooks

Use the search box to find print and electronic books. (You are searching all three SDCCD libraries, not just City.)

These can be either reference, circulating, or on reserve (textbooks).




Advanced Search         Browse Search

Search Tips:.

  • To only find ebooks --> Use SDCCD Books+ and choose Availability online and Resource Type: Books
  • To find ebooks and e-reference materials --> Use SDCCD Books+ and choose Availability online (will also get articles)Or go to A-Z Databases and choose Books/Ebooks in the dropdown.
  • (To find physcial textbooks for your class--> Use Course Reserves)

Can't find it here? Try:

Key Terms to Try

  • In general, search using one or two nouns, combined by AND or OR.
  • Do more than one search, using different words that cover the same concept.
  • If you find too much information, take out a word. If you don't find enough, add one.
  • Use an asterisk (*) to search for variations on a word. For example, searching for student* will bring up records on student and students.
  • For more information, see Develop a topic

These are only a few examples of Italian-related terms found using the SDCCD Books+ tab. For ebooks, limit Availability (in the left-hand column) to Available online.

Ebooks in the Spotlight

Use the SDCCD Books+ tab to limit to books in both our print and electronic collections. Click the links below to check on their availability. Circulating books are located on the third floor.

Off-campus Access

To get access to library resources from off-campus:

  • Students: When you click on a database/ebook link, you will be prompted for your CSID number and last name. Type it exactly the way you registered. You must be taking at least one City College class and have paid your tuition and fees. Problems? email citylib@sdccd.edu.
  • Staff: You are not automatically added to the system. To request a login, or if you are having problems, email citylib@sdccd.edu.
  • Faculty: If you are currently teaching, you are automatically added to the system. If you aren’t, or you are having problems, email citylib@sdccd.edu.

Common issues:

  • Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.
  • Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.
custom footer