Skip to Main Content

Chemistry

Books/Ebooks

 

Why Use Books/Ebooks?

  • Books are good for in-depth information that covers many issues of a topic. They can be physical books or online.
  • Reference materials include encyclopedias and dictionaries and give an overview of a topic to give you ideas, definitions, or lines of research to follow. Physical reference books cannot be taken out of the library.
  • Circulating books means you can take them out of the library for a long period of time. The Circulating Collection is on the third floor.

How to Find Books/Ebooks

Use the search box to find print and electronic books. (You are searching all three SDCCD libraries, not just City.)

These can be either reference, circulating, or on reserve (textbooks).




Advanced Search         Browse Search

Search Tips:.

  • To only find ebooks --> Use SDCCD Books+ and choose Availability online and Resource Type: Books
  • To find ebooks and e-reference materials --> Use SDCCD Books+ and choose Availability online (will also get articles)Or go to A-Z Databases and choose Books/Ebooks in the dropdown.
  • (To find physcial textbooks for your class--> Use Course Reserves)

Can't find it here? Try:

Key Terms to Try

  • In general, search using one or two nouns, combined by AND or OR.
  • Do more than one search, using different words that cover the same concept.
  • If you find too much information, take out a word. If you don't find enough, add one.
  • Use an asterisk (*) to search for variations on a word. For example, searching for student* will bring up records on student and students.
  • For more information, see Develop a topic

These are only a few examples of chemistry-related terms found using the SDCCD Books+ tab. For ebooks, limit Availability (in the left-hand column) to Available online.

Books in the Spotlight

Use the SDCCD Books+ tab to limit to books in both our print and electronic collections. Click the links below to check on their availability. Circulating books are located on the third floor.

Access to Library Resources from Off-Campus

 When you click on a link for a database article, video, or e-book:

  • Students: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your 10-digit student ID number and the same password you used to register for classes on mySDCCD portal.  You must be currently taking at least one City College class and have fully paid your tuition and fees in order to log in. If you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name and student ID number.
  • Staff: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are having problems logging in, email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.
  • Faculty: you will be prompted with a Microsoft single sign-on (SSO) login, which is your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are not teaching in the current semester/session or you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.

Common issues: 

  • Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.
  • Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.
custom footer