SDCC Library: French Language: Articles &amp; Videos

Articles and Videos

Why Use Articles?

Use articles to find current information on your topic.
Article databases are collections of published articles.
Some articles come from back issues of periodicals, others are written by staff writers supporting an information resource (similar to an encyclopedia).

Choosing Search Terms

Not getting what you want? See Develop a topic and Find books & articles via databases

Recommended Article and Video Databases

Here are some suggested databases (article collections) that you can search using keywords or terms for your topic.

If you are off-campus, you will need to type in your CSID number and last name.

Complete list of our databases

Ethnic NewsWatch [Current] This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Articles from ethnic, minority and native press publications. Some full text.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
(CountryWatch) Entries on the politics, geography, economy, business, environment, and current events of countries around the world. Full text.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
(Infobase Learning) Streaming video collection of over 36,000 full-length videos and 275,000 video clips on a variety of subject areas. Includes documentaries and collections from BBC, California Newsreel, History Channel, HBO, Frontline, Ken Burns, Modern Marvels and many, many more. Find these three videos by title in the search box: California State of Mind, Paywall, and The Pushouts.
Captioning
Captioning available *except* for non-English-language videos and videos without dialogue; recently-added videos may take up to 3 weeks to get captioned.
Public Performance Rights (to show outside the classroom)
"Permitted Uses of the Web Platform: The Web Platform is licensed solely to Licensee and Authorized Users for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Licensee and Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected Web Platform. Licensee and Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided with the Web Platform. Licensee may create and distribute transcripts." Click for Terms of Service

Find a Particular Journal or Magazine Title

Does the library subscribe to Cosmopolitan or Vogue? Use the Journal Finder to help you find specific journals or magazines.

Online Magazines and Their Print Versions

Here are a few online magazines. When the library reopens, you can browse print magazines for ideas and trends. Here are a few titles also in the Display Area near the Circulation Desk.

Paris Match

Login Information

As of 8/1/2024, the following information is true:


For	Use
Library databases & ebooks, canvas, Office 365	Student email and student password
myLibrary Account, Wifi, my SDCCD	Your 10-digit student ID and mySDCCD password
Library computers, printer, copier, scanner	Your 10-digit student ID and your 8-digit birthday (MMDDYYY)