Skip to main content

Spanish Language Old: Articles & Databases

Why Use Articles?

Newspaper articles may provide very current information and ideas for a topic. Magazine articles may provide ideas for your topic. Journal articles may provide in-depth, narrow information on your topic or on parts of your topic. See this table for further information about the different types of publications with articles and how they can provide information on your topic.

How Do I Tell a Journal from a Magazine?

Journals are different from magazines. When selecting an article for your topic, keep in mind who it's written BY and who it's written FOR. The author's credibility and the audience's reading level may differ greatly between journals and magazines, as would the scholarly quality of the work.

**Remote Access Guidelines

Access to Library Resources from Off-Campus Locations

How the login system works: You are automatically eligible only if you are currently taking a class or teaching a class.

  • Students: When you click on a database link or an e-book, you will be prompted for your 10-digit student ID number and last name. Type in your last name exactly the way you are registered for classes (usually how it appears on your student ID card). You must be currently taking at least one City College class and have fully paid your tuition and fees in order to log in. If you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu

  • Staff: You are not automatically added to the system from PeopleSoft. To request a login, or if you are having problems logging in, email citylib@sdccd.edu

  • Faculty: You are automatically added to the system from PeopleSoft if you are teaching in the current semester/session. If your status is different, or you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu

Common issues: 

  • Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.

  • Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.

Find Articles by Topic

Here are some suggested databases (article collections) that you can search using keywords or terms for your topic.

A complete list of our databases may be found HERE.

How do I Find a Specific Journal or Magazine Title?

Does the Library subscribe to a particular magazine or journal you are looking for, like Newsweek or The Journal of Applied Psychology? Check here: Journal Finder.

Browse Print Magazines

Our Periodicals and Newspapers section, located in the Library near the Circulation Desk and the Print Station, has a wide selection of print magazines to browse for ideas and trends related to your area of study. Here are a few titles with their corresponding web sites:

Aztlan Journal UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center
La Opinion www.laopinion.com
Vanidades www.vanidades.com
custom footer