Find articles published in periodicals (also known as journals, newspapers, and magazines) by looking in these collections:
Databases
Databases are collections you can search through online to find information on your topic. Specific databases of articles related to the subject area of this guide are featured below. The full listing of 60+ databases can be found in our A-Z Databases list.
Need a refresher on using a library database? Try this guide: Using Library Databases
Electronic Periodicals
Read the full text of these newspapers and magazines cover-to-cover online! Current issues as well as several years of back issues are available.
Print (hardcopy) Periodicals
These publications are located in the Library near the Circulation Desk and the Print Station, under the "Periodicals and Newspapers" sign. The display shelves can be raised for access to two years of back issues (except newspapers). Some titles have web sites also.
(McGraw-Hill) Formerly the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (2012), now updated online with current information. Also dictionary definitions, images, biographies, news stories from Science News, and videos/animations on science and technology topics from A-Z. Full-text.
FREE subscription access! _You need to renew each year_. To register for your free pass to the online NYTimes, click HERE. If you created your free account already, click HERE to log in. To get to the New York Times archives, go to the Times Machine at the bottom of the page.
(Proquest) "US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times (1980-present); Wall Street Journal (1984-present); Washington Post (1987-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); and Chicago Tribune (1985-present). New content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform." --vendor description
Print titles are found in the Library's Periodicals & Newspapers area, just past the Circulation Center desk on the entrance level (2nd floor) of the Learning Resource Center (R Building).
| COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY | |
| Title | Publisher Website |
| Computerworld | http://www.computerworld.com |
| MacWorld | http://www.macworld.com |
| PCWorld | http://www.pcworld.com |
| Smart Computing | http://www.smartcomputing.com |
| BUSINESS | |
| Title | Publisher Website |
| Black Enterprise | http://www.blackenterprise.com |
| Bloomberg Businessweek | http://www.businessweek.com |
| Consumer Reports | http://www.consumerreports.org |
| Entrepreneur | http://www.entrepreneur.com |
| Forbes | http://www.forbes.com |
| Fortune | http://www.fortune.com |
| Hispanic Business | http://www.hispanicbusiness.com |
| Inc. | http://www.inc.com |
| Kiplinger's Personal Finance | http://www.kiplinger.com |
| Money | http://www.cnnmoney.com |
| San Diego Business Journal | http://www.sdbj.com |
| Wall Street Journal | http://www.wsj.com |
Does the Library subscribe to a particular magazine or journal you are looking for, like Newsweek or The Journal of Applied Psychology? Check here by title: Journal Finder.
Check the San Diego Public Library's (SDPL) e-Library for more digital magazines you can read online! (Don't worry if you don't yet have a library card from SDPL. You can get a free one here: https://www.sandiego.gov/public-library/services/lending/librarycard.)
