Find articles published in periodicals (also known as journals, newspapers, and magazines) by looking in these collections:
Databases
Databases are collections you can search through online to find information on your topic. Specific databases of articles related to the subject area of this guide are featured below. The full listing of 70+ databases can be found in our A-Z Databases list.
Need a refresher on using a library database? Try this guide: Using Library Databases
Electronic Periodicals
These databases are focused on article collections from news and newspapers.
Print (hardcopy) Periodicals
These publications on a variety of topics are located in the Library near the Circulation Desk and the Print Station, under the "Periodicals and Newspapers" sign. The display shelves can be raised for access to two years of back issues (except newspapers). Some titles have web sites also.
Print titles are found in the Library's Periodicals & Newspapers area, just past the Circulation Center desk on the entrance level (2nd floor) of the Learning Resource Center (R Building).
| Title | Publisher Web Site |
| American Salon | americansalon.com |
| Essence | essence.com |
| Gentlemens' Quarterly (GQ) | GQ.com |
| Upscale Magazine | upscalemagazine.com |
| Vanity Fair | vanityfair.com |
| Vogue | vogue.com |
Does the Library subscribe to a particular magazine or journal you are looking for, like Newsweek or The Journal of Applied Psychology? Check here by title: Journal Finder.
Check the San Diego Public Library's (SDPL) e-Library for more digital magazines you can read online! (Don't worry if you don't yet have a library card from SDPL. You can get a free one here: https://www.sandiego.gov/public-library/services/lending/librarycard.)
