SDCC Library: Chicano/a/x Studies: Databases

This page hosts a list of databases available through San Diego City College Library that are recommended for Chicano/a/x Studies.

Recommended Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch [Current] This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Articles from ethnic, minority and native press publications. Some full text.
Hispanic Life In America This link opens in a new window
(Newsbank) Comprehensive news coverage of the Hispanic American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspapers, including almost 450 Hispanic American newspapers. Updated daily. Full text.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Formerly called Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Full-text articles, primary documents, & website links on controversial issues.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) History and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Some full text.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Formerly called U.S. History In Context. Historical (primary) documents, reference titles, and articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Some full text.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Formerly called World History In Context. Articles, reference articles, primary documents, video, and audio covering the world from antiquity to the present. Some full text.
Academic Search Complete (Classic UI) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database provides articles covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and other subjects. Some full text. Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines; nearly 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. Note: The Classic UI for Academic Search Complete will be replaced by the New UI after August 1, 2025.