Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Studies E -Resources to use from home

Black Studies: E-Resources you can use from home

Black Studies: E-Resources you can use from home

WHAT'S ON THIS PAGE?  See the column on the left under Home.

The majority of this page provides you access to free quality electronic resources to City College students as well as some that are free to all.  

Find out more about the Black Studies Program at San Diego City College

Explore the pre-2020 detailed library guide  Black Studies / African American Studies.

Need some help?

Get Help San Diego City College LIBRARY Home Page

For simple questions about the library, email us at citylib@sdccd.edu

Get help finding the books and articles you need via 24/ chat with a librarian

Learn how to do research.  From the Library's homepage, click on Research Guides and then scroll down to

When open, come by the City College Library (R Building) and discuss what you need with a faculty-librarian at the Information Desk (reference).  Or call us at 619-388-3288.

E-Books for City College Student

E-Books from our Databases

From our database page, scroll down to Gale e-Books and you will be able to search many quality encyclopedias all at once or individually including but NOT LIMITED TO

  • Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students 
  • The African American Almanac
  • African American History
  • African American Religions
  • Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & Africa
  • Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa 
  • Notable African American Writers
  • Notable Black American Men
  • Who's Who Among African Americans 

E-Books from our Library catalog

To search for e-books in City College Library Catalog, start on our home page.

  • Click Advanced Search
  • Click SDCCD Books+
  • Type in your search term(s) like alcoholism
  • Press SEARCH
  • Now Refine your Search Results appears in the left column
  • Click on Available Online

NOTES

  • Do NOT refine your search by clicking on City College.  This seems to omit many books to which you have access
  • FYI your username is your 10 digit ID number and your password is your last name.

Articles (scholarly and popular)

For City College Students: Access databases containing articles from newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed scholarly journals through our home page.

  • Click on A-Z Databases
  • Scroll down for a quick look at the topics in each database. Ebsco’s Academic Search Complete is a robust database with articles on just about everything and is often a good place to start.
  • Some databases include articles from journals magazines and newspapers as well as books.  If you are unsure what kind of resource you have, ask us on 24/7 chat on our home page or ask your instructor.
  • The databases that say they include “scholarly or peer reviewed” resources may also contain popular resources.  If so, it is likely you will find a way to limit to either the scholarly/peer reviewed sources or the popular sources.
  • Choose a database and use its Advance Search
  • Use your topic terms and alternative terms when searching.  For example, if you are interested in
    • Tuskegee Airmen, also search for World War II airforce, Blacks in World War II, Blacks in the military
    • Benin Bronzes, also search for African sculpture, African art
    • slavery in America, slaves, triangle trade, Nat Turner, Underground railroad, Sojourner Truth (or whatever describes your topic).
    • Be aware some databases may use the term Black, while others may use the term African American.  Do separate searches using each term until you have a sense of what the database's term is.  If you only get a few results, try the other term. 
    • To find a term in both its singular and plural form, add an * to its singular form (e.g. Black* or African American*)

Websites

Websites - free access - See San Diego and California specific resources below

San Diego and California Specific:

Note: Check with your professor about the kind of resources acceptable for your paper or project.

Videos and clips: Films on Demand and Swank for City College Students

Videos and Clips

Access to City College streaming videos is through our home page.

 

  • Click on A-Z Databases
  • Scroll down to Films on Demand or Swank
  • Films on Demand provides access to video collection for over 38,500 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips in a variety of subject areas.  Search using specific terms like “addiction” or “opioids”.
  • Swank provides access to over 290 feature films from major Hollywood studios and producers.
  • If on campus, you may view DVDs in the Library.  Find the DVD you want via our catalog, SDCCD Books+, on the home page.  Pick up the DVD from the Circulation Counter and take it to R105 (downstairs) to view