SDCC Library: Physics: Articles and Videos

Articles and Videos

Why Use Articles?

Use articles to find current information on your topic.
Article databases are collections of published articles.
Some articles come from back issues of periodicals, others are written by staff writers supporting an information resource (similar to an encyclopedia).

Choosing Search Terms

Not getting what you want? See Develop a topic and Find books & articles via databases

Recommended Article and Video Databases

Here are some suggested databases (article collections) that you can search using keywords or terms for your topic.

If you are off-campus, you will need to type in your CSID number and last name.

Complete list of our databases

Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Science articles from acoustics to zoology. Includes peer-reviewed/scholarly search option.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) Covers arts & sciences and the life sciences. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Note: The journal collections are "archived" collections, which means this database has the complete run of each journal starting with its first issue up until a certain date, usually excluding the most recent years.
Access Science This link opens in a new window
(McGraw-Hill) Formerly the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (2012), now updated online with current information. Also dictionary definitions, images, biographies, news stories from Science News, and videos/animations on science and technology topics from A-Z. Full-text.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Articles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Some full text.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
(Infobase Learning) Streaming video collection of over 45,000 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips on a variety of subject areas. Includes documentaries and collections from BBC, California Newsreel, History Channel, HBO, Frontline, Ken Burns, Modern Marvels and many, many more. Find these three videos by title in the search box: California State of Mind, Paywall, and The Pushouts.
Captioning
Captioning available *except* for non-English-language videos and videos without dialogue; recently-added videos may take up to 3 weeks to get captioned.
Public Performance Rights (to show outside the classroom)
"Permitted Uses of the Web Platform: The Web Platform is licensed solely to Licensee and Authorized Users for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Licensee and Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected Web Platform. Licensee and Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided with the Web Platform. Licensee may create and distribute transcripts." Click for Terms of Service

Find a Particular Journal or Magazine Title

Does the library subscribe to Cosmopolitan or Vogue? Use the Journal Finder to help you find specific journals or magazines.

Online Magazines and Their Print Versions

Here are a few online magazines. When the library reopens, you can browse print magazines for ideas and trends. Here are a few titles also in the Display Area near the Circulation Desk.

Physics Today
Also in print

Access to Library Resources from Off-Campus

When you click on a link for a database article, video, or e-book:

Students: Use your activated student email and your password. You must be currently taking at least one City College class and have fully paid your tuition and fees in order to log in. If you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name and student ID number.
Staff: Use your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are having problems logging in, email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.
Faculty: Use your SDCCD email address and the same password you use to log into your email (your Windows credentials). If you are not teaching in the current semester/session or you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu and include your full name, department, and employee number.

Common issues:

Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.
Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.