Use the search box to find print and electronic books. (You are searching all three SDCCD libraries, not just City.)
These can be either reference, circulating, or on reserve (textbooks).
Can't find it here? Try:
These are only a few examples of geography-related terms found using the SDCCD Books+ tab. For ebooks, limit Availability (in the left-hand column) to Available online.
Use the SDCCD Books+ tab to limit to books in both our print and electronic collections. Click the links below to check on their availability. Circulating books are located on the third floor.
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability
From Flint, Michigan, to Standing Rock, North Dakota, minorities have found themselves losing the battle for clean resources and a healthy environment. This book provides a modern history of such environmental injustices in the United States and Canada. From the 19th-century extermination of the buffalo in the American West to Alaska's Project Chariot (a Cold War initiative that planned to use atomic bombs to blast out a harbor on Eskimo land) to the struggle for recovery and justice in Puerto Rico following Hurricane Maria in 2017, this book provides readers with an enhanced understanding of how poor and minority people are affected by natural and manmade environmental crises. Written for undergraduates as well as the general reader with an interest in social justice and environmental issues, this book traces the relationship between environmental discrimination, race, and class through a comprehensive case history of environmental injustices. Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability includes 50 such case studies that range from local to national to international crises. Provides comprehensive coverage and analysis of the far-reaching specter of environmental racism in the U.S. and Canada, using numerous case studies that extend across the U.S. and Canada from the 19th century into the present day Examines the confluence of climate change, natural resource conflicts, political and corporate corruption, and racism Reflects a regional arrangement to better highlight patterns and types of injustices as well as victims Is written by a prolific author and expert on environmental and Native American issues
Cities Around the World: Struggles and Solutions to Urban Life [2 Volumes]
This two-volume set offers a comprehensive overview of major challenges faced by cities worldwide in the 21st century, and how cities in different geographic, economic, and political conditions are finding solutions to them. * Offers students more than a simple A-Z encyclopedia of the world's major cities by delving deep into the issues that these urban centers face * Includes approximately 100 entries on a multitude of issues in a variety of cities around the world, from Abu Dhabi to Zurich * Includes photographs to help to illuminate and provide visual support to the text * Features entries written by more than 30 scholars with backgrounds in a variety of disciplines, contributing to a well-rounded, comprehensive text
The Broken Heart of America
A searing portrait of the racial dynamics that lie inescapably at the heart of our nation, told through the turbulent history of the city of St. Louis. From Lewis and Clark's 1804 expedition to the 2014 uprising in Ferguson, American history has been made in St. Louis. And as Walter Johnson shows in this searing book, the city exemplifies how imperialism, racism, and capitalism have persistently entwined to corrupt the nation's past. St. Louis was a staging post for Indian removal and imperial expansion, and its wealth grew on the backs of its poor black residents, from slavery through redlining and urban renewal. But it was once also America's most radical city, home to anti-capitalist immigrants, the Civil War's first general emancipation, and the nation's first general strike--a legacy of resistance that endures. A blistering history of a city's rise and decline, The Broken Heart of America will forever change how we think about the United States.
The Power of Narrative : Climate Skepticism and the Deconstruction of Science
Remote Sensing Applications in Environmental and Earth System Sciences
Remote Sensing Applications in Environmental and Earth System Sciences is a contemporary, multi-disciplinary, multi-scaling, updated, and upgraded approach of applied remote sensing in the environment. The book begins with an overview of remote sensing technology, and then explains the types of data that can be used as well as the image processing and analysis methods that can be applied to each type of application through the use of case studies throughout. Includes a wide spectrum of environmental applications and issues Explains methodological image analysis and interpretation procedures for conducting a variety of environmental analyses Discusses the development of early warning systems Covers monitoring of the environment as a whole - atmosphere, land, and water Explores the latest remote sensing systems in environmental applications This book is an excellent resource for anyone who is interested in remote sensing technologies and their use in Earth systems, natural resources, and environmental science.
As of 8/1/2024, the following information is true:
| For | Use |
|---|---|
| Library databases & ebooks, canvas, Office 365 | Student email and student password |
| myLibrary Account, Wifi, my SDCCD | Your 10-digit student ID and mySDCCD password |
| Library computers, printer, copier, scanner | Your 10-digit student ID and your 8-digit birthday (MMDDYYY) |
