Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marketing: Find Sources

Find Sources: Start Here

Research process graphic

Search SDCCD Library Catalog for books & e-books:

    Search by:  

Canvas Users: Full library catalog OR  Search Other Library Catalogs

Remember, our library catalog doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search & Evaluate page of this guide.

Suggested Resources

Why Use Books?

Books are good for getting broad, deep information on your topic or on parts of your topic. Scholarly books, in either print or electronic ("e") format, are an important source for researchers. They are a good source for:

  • Comprehensive research data and findings
  • Key concepts and terminology
  • Illustrations, such as graphs, images, tables
  • References, indexes, and literature surveys or reviews

Where are the Books?

  • Reference books are on the second floor and do not leave the library. Encyclopedias, for example, may provide an overview of your topic so you will better understand books and articles you find later. Other reference books include subject specific handbooks, almanacs, and dictionaries, all of which provide precise nuggets of information. 
  • Circulating books are found on the third floor and you can borrow these to take home. Just browsing? Try this call number area:
    • HF 5410-5417.5​  Marketing
    • HF 5437-5444  Selling
    • HF 5801-6182  Advertising
  • E-books (electronic books) are accessed online though our library catalog (Primo). You will need to log into Primo to read the books online.

Suggested Books

Why Use Articles?

Articles are written pieces that appear in newspapers, magazines, journals, and encyclopedias. They may be very short, like a paragraph, or may be several pages (even dozens) in length. Articles intend to answer a very focused topic or research question.

Types of Articles (with Examples)

Source

Examples of titles

Currency

How often is it published?

Purpose

Why should I use it?

Location

Where can I find It?

Author 

Who wrote it?

Audience

For whom was it written?

Newspaper

Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal

Daily, very current Current info and ideas for a topic

Article database or via a web search

Reporters/journalists. Stories are reviewed by editor/s prior to going to press. General public

Magazine

Rolling Stone, Fortune, Vogue

Usually at least a week to a month behind newspapers. In-depth stories for a topic. Article database or via a web search Reporters/journalists. Stories are reviewed by editor/s prior to going to press. General public

Scholarly Journal

The Lancet, Journal of Abnormal Psychology

Scholarly research may take years to write up and publish. Detailed information about narrow topics (research questions). Article database. Beware web-based journals that charge fees to use.

Subject matter experts in the field of study. Journal editor may submit article to a panel of experts (peers) in the field for further review prior to publication.

Others in the field of study or those wanting scholarly information.

Encyclopedia

World Book Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of the Solar System

Scholarly publications may take years to write up and publish. Broad overview about a topic. May be a paragraph or several pages long. Encyclopedias are composed of articles (also called "entries"). Flip through a print version or use Gale Virtual Reference Library to find these articles within online encyclopedias. Subject matter experts in the field of study. General public, students, or experts in the field.

Suggested Databases for Articles:

Why Use Web Sites?

The Web is a popular information resource, often having up-to-the minute information on current events. HOWEVER, anyone can say whatever they want on the Web. What is credible-- what can you believe to be true? Be sure to check your Web sources against reputable works; read about the Four Moves to learn how to fact-check. Also, ask your instructor to see if he/she will accept information from a web site as a source.

Suggested Web Sites

Why Use Videos?

Use videos to see and hear how certain procedures are undertaken by professionals in the field. The videos in our collections were selected based on their relevancy to the courses taught at San Diego City College, and all are closed captioned. See full set of video collections here.

Suggested Videos:

Below are a few links to demographic information published by the U.S. federal government.

Below are collections of advertising available in repositories (collections) on the Web:

Key Terms in Marketing to Try

Here is a sampling of marketing-related terms to try in a search:

  • Branding
  • Marketing
  • Product Management
  • Promotion
  • Retail Trade
  • Selling

 

 

custom footer