Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology: Articles

Free Help. ASK A LIBRARIAN

We care, so please ask us for help: Your Professor Librarians. 

Come in, call, email or use our 24/7 chat.

Finding and Using Articles

Often the articles are not exactly worded like your topic, but are still very useful for your paper. Consult a librarian about choosing a variety of terms to use and how to enter them into a database to get the best articles on your topic.  Which database?  We have over 30 and if you transfer to a university, you will find over 300 databases.  So, ask your librarian which is best for your topic. Discover when to use articles by clicking here.

To find articles click on the tab for Articles & Databases in the middle of the Library Home Page. A link will come up for Go to the Articles & Databases page.  Click on it as well.  There you will see a list of databases that only you as a San Diego City College Student can access.  If you are accessing them from off campus, your user name is your City College ID number and your password is your last name.

Choose the database you use by considering the following:

  • The databases with the little graduation cap next to the name have peer reviewed and/or scholarly articles. When in the database, make sure you choose scholarly materials if you want them because not everything in the databases is scholarly.
  • The topics by the database are in the right hand column. More specific topics are in the description.
  • Some databases have books, not articles from journals as stated in the description.

Keep in mind that using the advanced search gives you more options to control your search.

Here are a few databases available to you as City College students that are good for sociological research:

Subject Guide

Carol Withers's picture
Carol Withers
Contact:
cwithers@sdccd.edu
619 388 3871
custom footer