Reference Books are good to use for:
- Narrowing a topic, research question, or thesis statements
- Defining terminology as it is defined in the field. In this case, sociology
- Getting a broad overview of your topic
- Discover more about using reference books by clicking here.
Sociological information can be found in many discipline areas of the library. Some of these books are on the shelf in the reference area, so use the call number to find them. Others are online. The best way to use the online reference books is to use a database we have called Gale Virtual Reference Library. You can find that on the database page. Here are a few reference books that are specific to sociology.
- Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology (3 volumes) Call number: HM425 .B53 2007
- Cultural sociology of divorce (3 volumes) Call number: HQ814 .C85 2013
- Cultural sociology of mental illness ( 2 volumes) E-Book available through City College Library
- Cultural sociology of Middle East, Asia & Africa (4 volumes) Call number: HM626 .C843 2012 and E-Book available through City College Library
- Dictionary of sociology (1 volume) Call number: HM425 .D5735 2005
- Encyclopedia of children, adolescence and the media (2 volumes) Call number: HQ814 .C85 2013 and E-Book available through City College Library
- Encyclopedia of disability (3 volumes) Call number: HV1568 .E528 2006
- Encyclopedia of prostitution and sex work (2volumes) Call number HQ115 .E53 2006 and E-Book available through City College Library
- Encyclopedia of social Theory (2volumes) Call number: HM425 .E47 2005
- Encyclopedia of sociology (5 volumes) E-Book available through City College Library
- Encyclopedia of swearing Call number: PE3724.O3 H84 2006
- Homosexuality and Religion Call number: BL65.H64 H63 2007
- Sociology of work (2 volumes) Call number: HD6955 .S648 2013
There are many more encylopedias that specialize in various sociological themes including but not limited to human ecology, drug abuse, health care systems around the world and so on. You might find it interesting to browse the shelves in the reference area between the HD and the HV call numbers to see what else we may have. Remember that if you don't find the information you want, ask us at the Information Desk. The professor librarians there may point you to an information source in a different area for your particular question.