Skip to main content

LRC Archives: LRC Archives

Information regarding the Archives collection at San Diego City College LRC.

Welcome to the LRC Archives

The Learning Resource Center (LRC) Archives consist of two large metal storage cabinets located in the technical services area of the Library.

What is available:

  • Approximately 54 items, listed in the library catalog under the LC subject Keyword search:

Archives—San Diego City College

Procedure for use of the archives:

  • Use is restricted to students and staff of San Diego Community College District.
  • You must email the Instructional Support Supervisor Daniel Gonzalez (dgonzale@sdccd.edu) and make an appointment to use materials.
  • You must use materials in a designated area of the library.
  • Reproductions of items must be made via photographs taken with a personal camera (cell phone or standalone), not on a copy machine since the items are very fragile.

DIGITIZED PORTIONS OF THE COLLECTION ARE LISTED IN THE BOXES BELOW:

Jay Sees (school newspaper)

Fortknightly (school newspaper) 

City Times (school newspaper)

Knight Owl (evening school newspaper) 

Miscellaneous

Jay Sees (school newspaper)

Digitized versions of the Jay Sees:

1947-48  October 1, 1947 to June 9, 1948 96 MB
1948-49  September 30, 1948 to March 17, 1949 78 MB

Fortknightly (school newspaper)

Continued from the Jay Sees. Name changes again to City Times in 1979.

1949-1979  Paper versions of the Fortknightly held in the Library Archives cabinets.
1949-1968  Digitized versions of the Fortknightly. See table below.

 

Digitized versions of the Fortknightly:

1949  March 31, 1949 to June 9, 1949 (Vol. 5) 36 MB
1949-50  September 29, 1949 to June 2, 1950 (Vol. 6) 99 MB
1950-51  September 21, 1950 to June 6, 1951 (Vol. 8) 97 MB
1951-52  September 27, 1951 to June 5, 1952 (Vol. 9) 86 MB
1952-53  October 2, 1952 to June 11, 1953 (Vol. 10) 99 MB
1953-54  October 1, 1953 to June 10, 1954 (Vol. 11) 91 MB
1957-58  September 25, 1957 to May 28, 1958 (Vol. 10) 96 MB
1958-59  October 1, 1958 to June 3, 1959 (Vol. 11) 81 MB
1959-60  September 30, 1959 to June 8, 1960 (Vol. 12) 118 MB
1960-61  September 28, 1960 to June 7, 1961 (Vol. 13) 99 MB
1961-62  September 27, 1961 to June 4, 1962 (Vol. 14) 132 MB
1962-63  September 12, 1962 to May 29, 1963 (Vol. 15) 145 MB
1963-64  September 18, 1963 to April 3, 1964 (Vol. 16) 80 MB
1964-65  September 14, 1964 to May 19, 1965 (Vol. 17) 107 MB
1965-66  September 25, 1965 to May 25, 1966 (Vol. 18) 80 MB
1966-67  September 28, 1966 to May 31, 1967 (Vol. 19) 97 MB
1967-68  October 18, 1967 to May 24, 1968 (Vol. 20) 130 MB
1967-68  Fortnightly Year in Review 130 MB

City Times (school newspaper)

Formerly the Fortknightly.

1978-80  Paper versions of the City Times available in the Library Archives
2004-present  Current issue on display and link to digital archive at City Times web site

Knight Owl (school newspaper)

"A laboratory experimental newspaper of the San Diego Evening College Journalism Workshop."

The Knight Owl ran concurrently with the Fortknightly as the paper for evening students.

1963-1967  Various issues from 1963 to 1967 171 MB

Miscellaneous

1916 November 5 Swim Team article in the San Diego Union (640 KB)

LRC Archives: Related Resources

LRC Archives Photo Gallery

Cabinet Interior L

Interior of Left Archives Storage Cabinet

Cabinet Interior R

Interior of Right Archives Storage Cabinet