Skip to main content

Economics: Reference Materials

includes macro and micro economics

Why Use Reference Materials?

Use encyclopedias to get an overview of your topic so you will better understand books and articles. Subject specific handbooks, almanacs and dictionaries provide precise nuggets of information.  See this table for further information about reference materials and how they can provide information on your topic.

How Do I Do Advanced Searching?

Need a reference book from City's collection? Doing an Advanced Search in the library catalog will allow you to refine your search to a specific campus (City), collection (Reference), and format (print or electronic).    

**Remote Access Guidelines

Access to Library Resources from Off-Campus Locations

How the login system works: You are automatically eligible only if you are currently taking a class or teaching a class.

  • Students: When you click on a database link or an e-book, you will be prompted for your 10-digit student ID number and last name. Type in your last name exactly the way you are registered for classes (usually how it appears on your student ID card). You must be currently taking at least one City College class and have fully paid your tuition and fees in order to log in. If you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu

  • Staff: You are not automatically added to the system from PeopleSoft. To request a login, or if you are having problems logging in, email citylib@sdccd.edu

  • Faculty: You are automatically added to the system from PeopleSoft if you are teaching in the current semester/session. If your status is different, or you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu

Common issues: 

  • Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.

  • Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.

Find Reference Materials in SDCCD Books+

Click the SDCCD Books + tab below to find reference books and tertiary sources in San Diego City College Library. We have over 4,500 books in our Reference Collection, located on the second floor. We also have electronic reference collections on our A-Z databases page




 

Can't find it here? Try another library.

Reference Sources in the Spotlight!

Reference sources come in print and electronic formats. Here are some examples from our collection; click the links below to check on their availability.

custom footer