Dramatic Arts E -Resources to use from home

Dramatic Arts: E-Resources you can use from home

WHAT'S ON THIS PAGE?  See the column on the left under Home.

The majority of this page provides you access to free quality electronic resources to City College students as well as some that are free to all.  

Find out more about the Dramatic Arts program at City College

Visit the pre-2020 Dramatic Arts page by clicking here.

Filmed plays, videos and clips

• National Theatre Collection: Filmed plays.  The UK's National theatre collection offers world-class productions
• Films on Demand provides access to video collection for over 38,500 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips in a variety of subject areas.  Search using specific terms like actors or theater or "method acting".  Put two or more words you want to find next to each other in quotation marks such as "Laurence Olivier".
• Swank provides access to over 290 feature films from major Hollywood studios and producers.
• Film Platform Collection:  Includes selections from prestigious film festivals 
• Kanopy Playlist: 20 streaming video documentary films requested by faculty. NOTE: Titles found by browsing the Kanopy web site beyond the playlist are not viewable. 

Additional access for City College students to FREE databases including the film databases mentioned above (including a range of article and book databases) is through our home page.

• Click on A-Z Databases
• Scroll down to the film database or any of our databases you want to explore
• Your user name is your student number and your password is your last name
• If on campus, you may view DVDs in the Library.  Find the DVD you want via our catalog, SDCCD Books+, on the home page.  Pick up the DVD from the Circulation Counter and take it to R105 (downstairs) to view

Get Help San Diego City College LIBRARY Home Page

For simple questions about the library, email us at citylib@sdccd.edu

Get help finding the books and articles you need via 24/ chat with a librarian then scroll down in the left column.

Learn how to do research.  From the Library's homepage, click on Research Guides and then scroll down to

• Research Step-By-Step  or
• Information Literacy: Basic Research Skills (a free OER text book)

When open, come by the City College Library (R Building) and discuss what you need with a faculty-librarian at the Information Desk (reference).  Or call us at 619-388-3288.

E-Books from our Databases

From our database page, scroll down to Gale e-Books and you will be able to search many quality encyclopedias all at once or individually including but NOT LIMITED TO

• Twenty-First Century Drama
• International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers 
• Schirmer Encylopedia of Film

E-Books from our Library catalog

To search for e-books in City College Library Catalog, start on our home page.

• Click Advanced Search
• Click SDCCD Books+
• Type in your search term(s) like alcoholism
• Press SEARCH
• Now Refine your Search Results appears in the left column
• Click on Available Online

NOTES

• Do NOT refine your search by clicking on City College.  This seems to omit many books to which you have access
• FYI your username is your 10 digit ID number and your password is your last name.

For City College Students: Access databases containing articles from newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed scholarly journals through our home page.

• Click on A-Z Databases
• Scroll down for a quick look at the topics in each database. Ebsco’s Academic Search Complete is a robust database with articles on just about everything and is often a good place to start.
• Some databases include articles from journals magazines and newspapers as well as books.  If you are unsure what kind of resource you have, ask us on 24/7 chat on our home page or ask your instructor.
• The databases that say they include “scholarly or peer reviewed” resources may also contain popular resources.  If so, it is likely you will find a way to limit to either the scholarly/peer reviewed sources or the popular sources.
• Choose a database and use its Advance Search
• Use your topic terms and alternative terms when searching.  For example, if you are interested in
  • theatrical productions, consider searching for the words plays, musicals, stage adaptations
  • dramatists, consider searching specific dramtists such as Shakespeare, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Akira Kurosawa ...
  • performing arts, consider searching for the words dance, music, theater
  • stage, staging

Websites

Miscellaneous

• Free Reads offers 20 scripts to read free of charge
• National Endowment for the Arts: "The NEA is an independent federal agency that funds, promotes, and strengthens the creative capacity of our communities by all Americans with diverse opportunities for arts participation."
• Occupation Outlook Handbook - Actors  Click on this site and search for additional occupational outlook in the Dramatic Arts such as set design and makeup artists and so on.
• The Old Vic Education Hub offers free videos of musicians, directors of this iconic theatre discussing their work wnad process.  "Today, Artistic Director Matthew Warchus is building on 201 years of creative adventure, with The Old Vic recently being hailed as ‘London’s most eclectic and frequently electrifying theatre’."

Theaters and/or organizations that may be streaming filmed plays. What is free varies daily.

• Drama Notebook offers FREE filmed plays.
• FIlmed on Stage provides a short list of plays to view for FREE
• PlayBill  Lists plays and musicals you can view from home
• PlayBill Lists FREE streaming plays and musicals you can iew from home

Remember we have films both in Swank and in Films on Demand for FREE to CIty College students, staff and fauclty.  Go to our database page and scroll down to one of these streaming services.  

Glossary / Vocabulary

Theatre terms is a robust glossary of theater arts jargon offered by the American Association of Community Theatre.