SDCC Library: Physics Old: Articles & Databases

Find Articles by Topic

Here are some suggested databases (article collections) that you can search using keywords or terms for your topic.

If you are off-campus, you will need to type in your CSID number and last name.

Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Science articles from acoustics to zoology. Includes peer-reviewed/scholarly search option.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) Covers arts & sciences and the life sciences. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Note: The journal collections are "archived" collections, which means this database has the complete run of each journal starting with its first issue up until a certain date, usually excluding the most recent years.
Access Science This link opens in a new window
(McGraw-Hill) Formerly the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (2012), now updated online with current information. Also dictionary definitions, images, biographies, news stories from Science News, and videos/animations on science and technology topics from A-Z. Full-text.

To get access to library resources from off-campus:

Students: When you click on a database/ebook link, you will be prompted for your CSID number and last name. Type it exactly the way you registered. You must be taking at least one City College class and have paid your tuition and fees. Problems? Email citylib@sdccd.edu.
Staff: You are not automatically added to the system from Peoplesoft. To request a login, or if you are having problems, email citylib@sdccd.edu.
Faculty: If you are currently teaching, you are automatically added to the system from ISIS. If you aren’t, or you are having problems, email citylib@sdccd.edu.

Common issues:

Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.
Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.

Browse print magazines for ideas and trends. Here is a title from the Display Area near the Circulation Desk: