SDCC Library: Economics: Books/E-books

Books @ SDCC Library

Use OneSearch or SDCCD Books+ to look for books in these collections:

Electronic Books:

San Diego City College Library has over 90,000 electronic books available to read online. A detailed list of e-collections is available in the guide Using e-Books.

Print Books:

San Diego City College Library has over 4500 print (hardcopy) books in its Reference Collection on the second floor and 60,000 print books in its Circulating Collection, located on the third floor.

See below for featured titles!

Electronic Books

The Encyclopedia of Money by Allen, Larry
Call Number: Internet Online (EBSCO), and Reference Collection HG216 .A43 2009
Covers the development of money and the functions and dysfunctions of the monetary and financial system.
The principles of macroeconomics & microeconomics by Salem Press
Call Number: Internet Online (EBSCO)
Publication Date: 2017
The Business Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics.
The Undercover Economist by Harford, Tim
Call Number: Internet Online (EBSCO)
Publication Date: 2006
"Covering an array of economic concepts including scarce resources, market power, efficiency, price gouging, market failure, inside information, and game theory, Harford sheds light on how these forces shape our day-to-day lives, often without our knowing it. Showing us the world through the eyes of an economist, Tim Harford reveals that everyday events are intricate games of negotiations, contests of strength, and battles of wits."-- from publisher description
What really counts : the case for a sustainable and equitable economy by Colman, Ronald
Call Number: Internet Online (EBSCO)
Publication Date: 2021
"Politicians and economists fixate on "growing the economy"-measured by a country's gross domestic product. But this yardstick counts harmful activities such as greenhouse gas emissions, plastic waste, and cigarette sales as gains, and it ignores environmental protection, voluntary community work, and other benefits. What we measure is a choice, and what is and isn't counted determines what sorts of policies are enacted. How can we shift the focus to well-being and quality of life?What Really Counts is an essential, firsthand story of the promise and challenges of accounting for social, economic, and environmental benefits." --from publisher description

Print Books

A Concise Guide to Macroeconomics, Second Edition by David A. Moss
Call Number: Circulating Collection HB172.5 .M68 2014
Publication Date: 2014
"In this revised and updated edition of A Concise Guide to Macroeconomics, David A. Moss draws on his years of teaching at Harvard Business School to explain important macro concepts using clear and engaging language. This guidebook covers the essentials of macroeconomics and examines, in a simple and intuitive way, the core ideas of output, money, and expectations." --publisher description
Energy, Economics, and Ethics by Kenneth Martens Friesen
Call Number: Circulating Collection HD9502.A2 F75 2020
Publication Date: 2019
"Through case studies and examples of past and present development of energy sources, the story is told of the global energy industry. In its telling Energy, Economics, and Ethics wrestles with many of the difficult questions at the heart of the emerging global energy transition." --from the publisher description
Measuring Poverty Around the World by Anthony B. Atkinson
Call Number: Circulating Collection HC79.P6 A87 2019
Publication Date: 2019
"In this, his final book, economist Anthony Atkinson, one of the world's great social scientists and a pioneer in the study of poverty and inequality, offers an inspiring analysis of a central question: What is poverty and how much of it is there around the globe? ....The result is an essential contribution to efforts to alleviate poverty around the world." --publisher description
Slowdown by Danny Dorling; Kirsten McClure (Illustrator)
Call Number: Circulating Collection HM891 .D67 2020
Publication Date: 2020
The end of our high-growth world was underway well before COVID-19 arrived. In this powerful and timely argument, Danny Dorling demonstrates the benefits of a larger, ongoing societal slowdown. --Publisher description
Think Like a Freak by Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner
Call Number: Circulating Collection BF449 .L47 2014
Publication Date: 2014
"Levitt and Dubner offer a blueprint for an entirely new way to solve problems, whether your interest lies in minor lifehacks or major global reforms. As always, no topic is off-limits. They range from business to philanthropy to sports to politics, all with the goal of retraining your brain." --excerpt from publisher description

Just Browsing?

Try these call numbers and headings if you'd like to browse the books on the shelves in our Circulating collection, located on our third floor. More information about borrowing here.

HB1-3840
Economic Theory

HC10-1085
Economic History

HD28-9999
Industries. Land Use. Labor.

How to Locate a Book

Print books are shelved in the Library in an organized system according to call number. Not sure how to use a call number to locate a book on a shelf? Take a quick look at these short explanations:

How to Read Call Numbers (University System of GA)

How to Read Call Numbers (U. of AZ Libraries)