Skip to Main Content

Personal Growth (College, Career & Life Skills)

Personal Growth

College, Career & Life Skills

Name tag Hello I am your dream

The Personal Growth program at San Diego City College is designed for all students at San Diego City College. The primary focus of the program is to help you develop critical thinking skills in relation to  academic, career, and life-planning goals.  This guide will help you get started finding supporting information for these areas, including books, articles, web sites, and media materials. 

Image by Tumisu from Pixabay

Start Research Here!




Search Tips:

*OneSearch doesn't show you everything! Some databases, like those from EBSCO, are not included so you will need to search them separately.

  • To find Books, e-books and reference materials --> Use SDCCD Books+, A-Z Databases, or OneSearch
  • To find Textbooks for your class--> Use Course Reserves
  • To find Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers --> Use A-Z Databases, EBSCO Articles, or OneSearch
  • To find Periodicals by title --> Use Journal Finder or OneSearch
  • To find Videos and media --> Use Videos link, A-Z Databases (choose Films on Demand, Swank, or Kanopy), or OneSearch

Terms to Try

Use these terms in SDCCD Books+ Advanced Search to find resources in the SDCC Library. See example search graphic below.

Careers College Compassion
Emotional intelligence Goal-setting Planning
Self-esteem Skills  
Success Well-being  

How to do an Advanced Search in SDCCD Books+ with Key Terms: 

Advanced Search Screenshot

 

1. Select SDCCD Books +

2. Select Subject from the dropdown menu

3. Type in the key term

4. Click the Search button to get results

The Research Process

See these guides for more detailed information on how to do library research:

**Remote Access Guidelines

Access to Library Resources from Off-Campus Locations

How the login system works: You are automatically eligible only if you are currently taking a class or teaching a class.

  • Students: When you click on a database link or an e-book, you will be prompted for your student email address and your mySDCCD password. You must be currently taking at least one City College class and have fully paid your tuition and fees in order to log in. If you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu

  • Staff: You are not automatically added to the system from PeopleSoft. To request a login, or if you are having problems logging in, email citylib@sdccd.edu. 

  • Faculty: You are automatically added to the system from PeopleSoft if you are teaching in the current semester/session. If your status is different, or you are having problems with your login, please email citylib@sdccd.edu

Common issues: 

  • Some databases require that your browser be set to accept all cookies.

  • Security software may interfere with a database's user authentication protocol. You may have to temporarily disable it in order to connect to a database.

Guide Author

Sandra V. Pesce, PhD, MLS ~ Librarian/Professor Electronic Resources ~ spesce@sdccd.edu ~ 619-388-3245

custom footer