San Diego City College Library has over 400 DVD titles on-site in its Media Collection, plus a variety of online streaming video products that you can access from outside the Library. See the collections below!
Other libraries have videos also. As a California resident, you are eligible to be a member of two large public library systems (city and county)-- and it's free to join, so check them out!
Image "3D Film Strip With Pictures" by Anusorn P nachol at FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Notice to faculty and campus events coordinators: Because the collections below are intended for classroom instructional use, click the "More" link under each description to see requirements regarding captioning and public performance rights outside the classroom. See the Legal Stuff box for a discussion about Zoom live streaming.
(Alexander Street/PQ) Streaming video collection of 400+ titles, curated for academic audiences. Includes selections from prestigious film festivals plus many OSCAR®-nominated and OSCAR®-shortlisted documentaries. Click the red filter button to sort the catalog.
(Infobase Learning) Streaming video collection of over 45,000 full-length videos and 310,000+ video clips on a variety of subject areas. Includes documentaries and collections from BBC, California Newsreel, History Channel, HBO, Frontline, Ken Burns, Modern Marvels and many, many more. Find these three videos by title in the search box: California State of Mind, Paywall, and The Pushouts.
(SDCC) Streaming video collection locally curated for SDCC students to show how to navigate the library and the research process. This page links to the SDCC Library Youtube channel.
(Kanopy) This is a curated Kanopy playlist of 12 streaming video documentary films requested by faculty. Follow the red buttons to Log Into SDCity with your school credentials. Then use the search box in Kanopy to find your video by title. (Only some of the videos are shown in the gallery). Titles available: bell hooks || The Codes of Gender || Delano Manongs || I Am Not Your Negro || The Illusionists || Jamaica and Tamarindo || The Mask You Live In || No Small Matter || Precious Knowledge || Seven Samurai || Tough Guise 2 || White Like Me
(Alexander Street/PQ) Streaming video collection of 30 plays by the United Kingdom's National Theatre. Includes digitized archival materials such as photographs, scripts, costume designs, and more to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
(SDCCD) Streaming video collection of open instructional videos created by SDCCD faculty and staff, all captioned. Contact SDCCD Online Learning Pathways for more information.
(Swank) Streaming video collection of 300 feature films from major Hollywood studios and other producers. NOTE: The following films have restricted access and may not show up in a search of this database. If not, faculty must send a request to citylib@sdccd.edu to get a link for student access: Hocus Pocus, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Spiderman: Into the Spider-Verse, The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring, and The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers.
San Diego City College Library has captioned DVDs in its Media Collection, located at the Library Circulation Desk. Use SDCCD Books+ to find media items in that collection.
Performance Rights for Physical Media
When looking in the library catalog for a DVD, check the record for one of these two statements:
More information on showing films in the classroom on the American Library Association website.
As a California resident, you are eligible to be a member of San Diego Public Library, which has a streaming video in its e-Library Collection: see Kanopy in their collection of Movies & TV.
Faculty and campus events coordinators:
It is your responsibility to check for captioning and performance rights before using a video outside the classroom no matter if the video is from a San Diego City College Library collection or not. Certain vendors have specific public performance rights for use outside the classroom. The SDCC Library does not assume responsibility for interpretation of law regarding performance rights.
The librarians have noted the public performance rights for certain vendors/collections listed on this web page. Classroom rights differ.
Can I live stream a video over Zoom?
Best practice is to link to library resources instead. As with all copyright questions, the answer about live Zoom streaming depends on evaluation of four factors (Purpose, Nature, Amount, and Market). Librarians cannot give legal advice. Please refer to the SDCCD Copyright Guidelines page, and see the article below for a discussion of Fair Use and the four factors as specifically regards Zoom.
Sandra V. Pesce, PhD ~ Electronic Resources Librarian ~ spesce@sdccd.edu
